Fulfilling Your Own Needs, Take A Rest!

scorpie
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
3 min readMay 25, 2024

To all the people who always feel ‘busy’ even though rest time is approaching. Maybe, it is the right sign for you to stop being busy and take a rest.

Photo by Marylou Fortier on Unsplash

I used to be that person — someone who didn’t care about myself and started running for everything, even though it became harder than I expected. I enjoyed my busy phase and was in denial that all of these things would destroy me later. Doing my duties in both academic and non academic; meeting my teams and talking about the progress that never satisfied me ; adopting because I’m a newbie here ; making a lot of friends and building connections among them.

I almost did it every single day. But at that time, I didn’t think that it would ruin me. The only thing that comes to my mind is “I do it for the future so there’s nothing to regret”. I forgot that I lived for today and was busy doing something for the future like there’s no tomorrow.

Then, I felt stressed. I was totally burnt out. There was nothing to hold onto and that made me feel insane. I’m tired and it kills me. I didn’t even understand why it was ruining me like this. All I know is the whole things that I’ve did before aren’t worth fighting for anymore.

I used to prepare it for the future. But, I don’t even see the impact because of it. I’m lost and nobody is here for me. It is getting heavier and more toxic day by day. I almost lost myself but fortunately, deep down in my heart I still want to survive. The only reason that kept me stable.

“Stop it.” My friend said to me in the middle of my stressing phase. “You were overworked. You have a limit too. Did you ever think about yourself lately?” And I can’t do anything but regret it.

I remember that before my busy phase came, I was living my own life. It was a little bit boring, but I miss it a lot. I forgot that before it; I had a great hobby to do, I had my own time so I wouldn’t compare myself to others like this, and I had a free-time to take a break from my activities. I have them. But where did they go now?

Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

So, instead of staying on my current path and becoming more stressed than I could handle, I chose to make a change. I can’t suddenly leave them, my busy phase, behind. But, now, I think I can be a little nice to myself.

I start to do my hobbies and give myself a break. The proper break that I’ve ever taken. When the weekend comes, I prefer to do nothing for a day and lie on my bed without thinking about anything. Give myself another shot. It will make me come back brighter and fresher on Monday morning.

I started to do it and I think there’s an impact on my life. I can manage myself better, being bold every single day on weekdays but have a good rest on the weekend is the best decision I’ve ever made.

I can be productive in the weekdays and I can take a proper rest on weekend. It seems fairer than before, right?

“It’s always a good thing — chasing something and getting to know yourself better. Make it balanced and you’ll get the result. If you force yourself over your limit, it’ll break you into pieces. In the end, the only one that’ll stand here is yourself. So, fulfill your own self need as a thankful for them.”

--

--

scorpie
Wake. Write. Win.

my digital journal; the place where all my thoughts, writings, and the safest place for me to pour out my heart through writing. instagram: @thisisaapin