Homemaker’s Harmony: Unveiling My Daily Dance

Khateja Karim
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
3 min readMay 29, 2024
Photo by Malvestida on Unsplash

Hello, everyone. Today, I will disclose my actual habits in the daily running of my housewife’s life schedule. It’s not a matter of being a good or lousy housewife, but only an ordinary illustrated routine. If you don’t mind, briefly describe your usual day, too.

Usually, around 4:40 a.m., I feed my 1-year-old and my 5-month-old, change his diaper and head back to bed. Sometimes, I can get up for prayers at six o’clock, and others when I can’t because I might have fallen asleep or the alarm might not have gone off. My six-year-old son attends school at 7:30 a.m., Monday through Friday. He is brought downstairs by my husband, who then waits for his school bus at 8:20 a.m.

Photo by Rachel Park on Unsplash

At eight in the morning, I wake up and finish preparing breakfast. Most of the time, my husband bathes our little boy. I feed him around ten or eleven-thirty, lulling him to sleep until just before noon.

Photo by Katie Smith on Unsplash

Between 10:00 -11:50 am is when I usually start preparing lunch; therefore, our normal lunch hour falls between 12:00 and -1:00 pm, while my husband’s job hours are quite flexible, so he may leave either before or after eating. Between 2 and 3 in the afternoon, I normally take some time off from any activity in order to simply rest as well as unwind before my son comes back home from school at approximately 3:30 pm when it’s his little brother’s feeding time before I retire to bed for a while; this usually happens before sunset.

At roughly 5:30 PM, it will be time to give a shower to my son before bedtime, but I will be lit up with fear if only it were his brother. Little Yusuf is very independent, and he does not thrive on handouts. He will wash himself after coming back from school, and then I will do the same to his brother, too, as a mother, for we are near each other. The dinner for my children and me will be from 6:00 – 7:00 PM. After that, we will do various activities, such as small talk, games, or movies, until 9:15 PM.

It’s 9.15 p.m., and they are going to sleep in a few minutes. But usually, I would prefer to read and write or just browse online as usual till 11.00 p.m. Though I keep on feeling sleepy in the early hours of midnight night, I can hardly retire to bed that early. After all, I almost become an insomniac every single day because I have to go to bed. And that’s it for my daily affairs narration. However, soon I will stop having free time like this: since my day will start with work, how things are would change.

--

--

Khateja Karim
Wake. Write. Win.

Not active from Jun - August (Giving Birth - Confinement) Get my E-book now https://books2read.com/u/bpNBg6