How does Empathy cure the desperate soul?

Iqra Ali
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
4 min readApr 24, 2024
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I have always been a desperate soul. Mostly, I crave the attention of my loved ones. Unfortunately, I am not that much fortunate. I know what it feels like eagerly wanting to share your mind with others and discuss your real problems, but you already know it is never possible because of endless backlash and inconvenience from others.

I recently got a chance to figure out that I have certain qualities of Empathy, Understanding, and being an active listener. I didn't know this until I met my friend and witnessed her complimentary remarks on me.

I was checking my critical messages on the WhatsApp group when one of my friend's status blew my mind.

She updated a hopeless note to give up on life. I can't believe to my eyes, how a blissful and altruistic person could write a killing note.

Without thinking twice, I contacted her and showed concern over her statement. She was not ready to unwrap me until I asked her to come to my home.

I left my work aside and waited for her reply. She didn't answer my messages and calls. I didn't lose hope and kept on trying for a few days.

On 2nd February 2023, she replied and asked me to meet her at a restaurant.

A message by her side to me unwind my soul, and I went to see her at the destined location.

She had reached there before the time overwhelmed by misery and loss. I tried to be as good and humble with her.

At first glance, I met her nicely and asked if whatever was going on with you allowed me to lend my ear to you. I assured and made a promise to her that I am not here to judge you.

She nodded and took a deep breath.

After 30 minutes of constant speech flow, she seemed to look much more relaxed and released.

I didn't bother to intrude on her during the delivery of her speech.

She further added how the constant pressure of being high-flying and constant expectations from the side of her husband and family made her insecure and worried.

She claimed to take her life due to unrealistic expectations. However, she was so desperate and exhausted that she rejected listening to me.

I was so worried about her situation, and I would put myself in her shoes since who knows better than me? When I am in desperate need of Empathy, I find no one whom I can count on.

I allowed her to release, and she uttered a horrific statement.

Sometimes, I find myself miserable living in my chaotic world and fighting against the ruthless flow of thoughts that undermines me each time I feel the bitter taste of the rigidity of life.

I consoled her and scrutinized her expression. Is she ready to hear me?

Fortunately, she seemed to look much better than before. Then, I asked one question that took her down the rabbit hole.

Have you ever tried to talk to your husband about this matter?

She replied, No

I said: why?

She said, I don't know.

I told her, you should talk to your husband and explain everything in your heart.

She wasn't ready to accept my advice. However, after my consistent motivation and rational speech, she seemed to agree with my point.

It was getting late. I offered my kind gesture of saying goodbye and taking care by mentioning that feel free to contact me again.

I don't know why. My heart and soul were feeling content at that time.

I came back home. I was exhausted emotionally. Then, all of a sudden, I wept inconsistently and fell asleep.

The Next morning, I checked my phone to witness numerous calls and voice notes from my friend.

Without delaying any minute, I called back to her. She sounded happy and satisfied.

She added that my advice changed her life.

And.

She explained that as she was preoccupied with hopelessness, so she would not think at that time.

However, she was on the verge of ending her life.

Then she found someone who proved to be an angel in the form of a person.

She added to me that evening my advice resonated with her so intensely that she mustered the courage to talk to her husband.

She was not expecting might to receive emotional support and a pat on the side from her husband.

Also, She told me how my support, advice, and irreplaceable motivation altered her life.

I put doubt to believe what I was listening to.

Suddenly, I found an intense feeling of contentment filled my body.

Never in my dreams could I imagine creating significant change in the lives of others because of me.

She was blessed and grateful to me on the phone and invited me to catch up again. This time, she gave me an invitation to her house in a more fulfilled and confident manner that I was in doubt about talking to another person.

After I hung up, I was in awe of how Empathy proved life-changing in other lives. I felt that I was a Doctor who accomplished to rescue life with the medicine of limited empathetic words and motivation.

I am now satisfied that I can save more lives since this medicine of Empathy is the cure for the diseases of depression, anxiety, loneliness, and desperation.

We all can make this world a better place to live in by being more humble, kind, and empathetic towards one another. Who knows? Our few kind words and appreciation transform so many lives, and we would receive a great blessing of karma for our good deeds.

WRITING CONTEST IN MEDIUM
https://medium.com/wake-write-win/join-my-300-writing-contest-on-medium-until-april-30-d80aeac2a8b8

--

--

Iqra Ali
Wake. Write. Win.

Hi everyone. Hope you all are well. My name is Iqra Ali. I am a content writer. My job is to prevail light in the darkness of the soul.