How I achieved Minimalism

Shamir Afridi
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2024

The world we live in today is one in which we are bombarded with messages that strongly suggest that more is equal to better, whether it is possessions, commitments or consumption. However, minimalism offers an alternative narrative that I find refreshing.

By focusing on what really matters and getting rid of the rest, I have achieved more happiness and clarity as well as increased productivity.

In this article, I describe how I came to embrace minimalism, its benefits, and ways to get started.

Photo by NordWood Themes on Unsplash

Basic Introduction to Minimalism

Minimalism goes beyond an aesthetic preference or a trendy style; it’s rather a lifestyle based on intentionality. It requires stripping away all non-essentials so as to allow what brings value into my life. This approach has cultural and philosophical roots in Buddhism and Stoicism among others.

Notably, modern figures such as Marie Kondo as well as the Minimalists (Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus) have been at the forefront of promoting this movement whose ideals deeply resonate with me. Minimalism does not translate into deprivation but rather taking deliberate actions to improve one’s quality of life.

Benefits of Minimalism

Mental Clarity:

The most notable benefit for me has been mental clarity. Both physical and digital clutter often caused stress and lack of focus for me personally. I now live in a less chaotic environment with calmness where there was chaos thus enabling concentration while writing or reading something.

Financial Freedom:

Another major advantage of minimalism is financial freedom.

Now I exchange quantity for quality utilizing mindful consumption. This means that my shopping is guided by conscious selection in terms of personal values and needs rather than impulsive buying hence saving money.

Environmental Impact:

Finally, minimalism has had the most profound effects on the environment in my life. This philosophy encourages waste minimization, reuse and preference for sustainable alternatives.

My Practical Suggestions for making Minimalism Part of your Life:

Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

Decluttering:

I initiated my movement into minimalistic lifestyle by decluttering my physical spaces. Marie Kondo brought it to the limelight through KonMari method which requires people to keep things that “spark joy” and discard others.

Mindful Consumption:

This therefore involves being cautious about what I buy asking myself if I truly require it or how it corresponds to my future plans and values.

Simplifying Commitments:

Many times, I have found myself having obligations in my schedule that neither made me happy nor facilitated personal growth. Consequently, when I evaluated all these activities based on core underlying principles more time was allocated towards meaningful endeavors resulting in a relief from overwhelming schedules and stress.

Therefore……..

Living this way has positive impacts on mental health, financial status and ecosystem conservation. Minimalism is also a way of dealing with the complexities of current life hence giving an opportunity to focus on more meaningful existence. By making small changes towards this direction first of all, my entire life was transformed by it in ways that I never thought possible thus transforming the world.

What is one area of your life that you want to simplify? Leave your comments below!

--

--