How I Stopped Shopping

Kiran Yadav
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
3 min readMar 1, 2024

--

Have you ever felt the thought that the product on your screen is what you want and after buying it your life will be sorted.

In these current times, social media algorithms bombard our screens with new products every day. If you linger over it for a few seconds, that product reappears after every feed. You will then be stuck in this loop.

You will see that product so much that it will convince you that your life is empty without it.

We have so many influencers on social media, who are promoting these products constantly. And subconsciously, we succumb to this idea and hit that checkout button, to match with the trends. However, it will be lying in our cupboard and we won’t bother to look at it ever again.

The product looks more enticing on our screen than when it is actually in our hands. Our dopamine gets boosted by the purchase and the anticipation of the arrival of the product rather than using it.

I’m no different than a shopaholic, it is still a struggle sometimes. When I do want to get that dopamine boost, I add it to my cart and go to that checkout point but return quickly and satisfy my urge.

Now, before I tell you how I have suppressed my shopaholic nature, I would like to tell you when I realised that it was affecting my mental health.

I moved to another city six months ago. While packing, I found many clothes shoved in my wardrobe that had never seen the light of day. Yet, as I held each piece, I remembered…

--

--

Kiran Yadav
Wake. Write. Win.

Uncovering my niche, exploring genres, making meaningful contributions along the way