The golden years

If My Wife Were Black

Tony Pretlow
Wake. Write. Win.

--

Oh, the pitfalls of interracial marriage. These are some “thangs” we live with.

If my wife were black

There would be more washcloths in the house.

If my wife were black

She wouldn’t have allowed me to take a watermelon to my company picnic.

If my wife were black

She’d remind me to put lotion on my ashy knees.

If my wife were black

She’d know what CP time means.

If my wife were black

We’d never run out of hot sauce.

If my wife were black

Collard greens would cook for more than 20 minutes.

If my wife were black

She would know my gangsta lean wasn’t me trying to fold out a fart.

If my wife were black

She wouldn’t allow me to dance.

If my wife were black

We’d never run out of orange soda.

If my wife were black

ChapStick would be on the grocery list.

If my wife were black

Ham hocks would be used and not get freezer burned.

If my wife were black

She’d know why February is the shortest month.

If my wife were black

She wouldn’t let me wear shorts with white socks and sandals.

If my wife were black

There would be no list.

Note: This is a work in progress.

--

--

Tony Pretlow
Wake. Write. Win.

Passionate. Dedicated reader and commenter. Occasional writer. I enjoy writing poetry and prose. Father of five. Happily married/retired. Northwestern U. Alumus