Fatimah Mayana
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
2 min readApr 30, 2024

--

I’m going to be a superhero

I think we’ve all, at one point or another, wanted to be superheroes.

As a kid I wanted to be Superman or Spiderman because they were just ordinary people who got to save others when they needed saving.

Now, I’m leaning more towards being someone like Batman or Ironman. Two super rich guys, if I were in their shoes, all I’d do is give the money away. Charities and scholarships nobody would know were my doing.

I’d probably never be as rich as either of them-money wise anyway.

See, what I’m just now coming to terms with is I can’t always change my situation. I have to deal with the cards I’ve been dealt. The positive being I have cards; they’re good cards!

  • I love to write. So I’m going to write to anybody who will read. I’ll encounter and educate and inspire.
  • I love to read. So I’ll read to whoever can’t, for one reason or another. I’ll read stories and news articles and magazines. If only to encourage whoever wrote them because we all just want to know someone’s listening.
  • I love to talk. So I’ll talk to whoever will listen. I’ll listen to whoever will talk. If only to take a little of their loneliness away.
  • I love to people watch. If only to let everyone in the world know that they are seen and they are beautiful.

I love to create.

I love to inspire.

I love to teach.

I love to learn.

I love to grow.

I love to support.

I love to play.

Im not the only one who can do these things. We all can. Bringing a little bit of any of the things I’ve just mentioned would change you, further more changing the world.

I know I can’t do it alone. The possibility of me changing the world is almost zero. But maybe I can change someone’s view of the world and inspire them to do the same to another person. Some of us don’t necessarily know or realize we’re more than capable of stirring the pot a little to get someone else interested. This is your sign. I’m telling you right now. Let’s be the superheroes nobody ever wrote about. The ones who smile at strangers and give away their last few bucks to charity because they know more is coming.

So, yes, while all the other superheroes are beating supervillains. I’ll be the less popular one, on the ground, cleaning up the rubble and holding the hands of every scared or injured person.

I may not be changing the whole world but I know for even just a second, I changed one persons view of the world.

https://medium.com/wake-write-win/join-my-300-writing-contest-on-medium-until-april-30-d80aeac2a8b8

--

--

Fatimah Mayana
Wake. Write. Win.

Writing has always been one of my favourite hobbies. It’s fun. It also pays. I’m available for hire as a ghostwriter or copywriter.