It’s Over??

How fast time flies…

Jerome K.
Wake. Write. Win.
3 min readMay 21, 2024

--

Congratulations to All! Well done!

I would like to begin by saying that no matter where you are or what you are doing, you deserve a little pat on the back.

Specifically, to all students, parents, and teachers for a JOB WELL DONE this school year.

Our graduation rites happened last Friday.

Photo by Charles DeLoye on Unsplash

For some, it may be their last month or week but sooner or later…

ITS OVER

No more quizzes to worry about…

No more lessons to review…

It’s Summer time🏝️☀️😎

What do Teachers do During the Summer?

On the last day of class, I spoke to my teacher. I asked them what they had planned for the coming months as their jobs were not as heavy.

What they said shocked me as they explained that they did not get any month long breaks. Now that they have more time, most teachers end up studying and taking up their masters.

Some spend it getting ready for the upcoming school year. While others have other business to attend to.

They were far from free…and it got me thinking.

Childhood is the time we are most free.

How do I feel about Graduating?🎓

Graduating was a bitter sweet experience for me. On one end, school has finally ended and I have conquered through various challenges and late-night study sessions. I can peacefully rest tonight.

Something deep inside feels wrong though, as I looked around the ceremony on graduation day. A piece of my heart wanted to remain.

In previous years, from elementary to high school, I would always think about the summer ahead. However, as I grew older especially in 10th grade, a realization occurred to me that it was not so bad to be in school.

To me, as fun as it may seem to finish the school year as quickly as possible, the after effect is equally as dreading with too much time.

It got boring quickly…

On my last year of high school, the final day was celebrated well. For our tribute, we had planned a concert for our dear parents and teachers to watch.

It was nothing small…it was GRAND. We worked tirelessly to put on a show full of videos compiled of our pictures, dance performances, and speeches to honor all those who have helped us along the way.

At the end of the concert, we also held a small party inclusive to our batch and today, I’ll remember it as the last day I saw all of us together.

Each hot summer day reminds me of how I miss my friends, classmates, and teachers.

As I continue on to college, I know I’ll just grow to miss them more.

With that said, if there was one advice I could give my past self it would be to really: ENJOY THE MOMENT

Photo by Levi Guzman on Unsplash

As frequent as people say it, TOO LITTLE people believe in it.

Yes, it’s fun to think about the future and fulfill those dreams of yours but it’s the journey that makes the destination more fulfilling.

Each and every moment is important. People do not value a moment until it becomes a memory.

As I continue my life, stepping into the realm of college, I promise to take each day separately. Enjoying every second of my time in a new school with new people and new teachers.

With this, I challenge YOU too…

Whatever situation you are in, let’s make it a quest to LIVE each day.

Thank you for reading!!

— Jerome K.

--

--