Let me introduce myself

Rosie Sha
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
4 min readApr 3, 2024

After reading many comments, I realized I hadn’t properly introduced myself or clarified my niche.

So let me seize this opportunity to write about who I am.

Hi there, Medium Community. I am Ece Gül. Rosie is the pen name I adopted in China (It’s so hard for local people here to pronounce my name. So I did them a favor. Not a big one, just translated my name into English).

Long story short, I am an expat living in China and originally from a former Soviet country. As a career, I am a linguist and translator, mad about learning new languages and in awe of their complexity and power. While doing my MA in Malaysia, I had to teach English part-time, which helped me discover another passion hidden in my soul, teaching.

Image by the author

As I have stated in my bio, I am a teacher, linguist, and translator, and most of all, a spiritual soul, active listener, and lifelong learner. All I do here is write about inner work.

I keep telling my audience that I write to ‘shrink’ the issues of life with inner work. I deliberately used that verb because I am naturally a good ‘shrink’.

After reading some comments about it, I realized how it sounds vague and a broad niche. Thus, I am writing this article to be more precise about my niche in addition to introducing myself.

So what’s inner work? In my words, it simply means to dig deeper to trace your habits and default state to childhood, and truly understand how and why you feel what you feel.

You can imagine it like going deep down to the groundwork of your temple to fix the bumps and holes. It doesn’t matter how much renovation you do on the upper part, it will always have shaky ground unless you address the fundamental issues. I used to struggle with changing my bad habits by reading numerous books and applying various methods. It took me years to realize that only inner work could lead me to true contentment and fulfillment.

Through this process, I have discovered that my lack of discipline and motivation stems from underlying issues. It was only after working on my self-worth that I was able to stick to the promises and commitments I made to myself. I would never know that there was a leak in my self-esteem without going deeper into my childhood.

As a result of the inner work, I realized some of my habits like pleasing others, and always trying to be a good girl were not serving me well. I decided to get rid of all the false assumptions and attachments that were holding me back. This process of decluttering and redecorating my inner self has brought about a remarkable improvement in the quality of my life. As a spiritual and religious person, I used to believe that focusing on myself was selfish and egocentric. However, to my surprise, this journey of inner work has actually enriched my relationship with my Creator and my loved ones, especially my husband and kids bringing the AUTHENTIC ME.

In my case, inner work was a game change, and it’s a lifelong journey of mindfulness and self-awareness. It’s not just a fancy vague concept. It’s a rich and deep work at a soul level based on neuroscience, psychology, and spirituality. I am happy to be able to write about my vulnerable, yet valuable experience here on Medium. Refreshing my knowledge by writing here helps me grow and I believe it will benefit others as well.

Please check out some of my articles to see how inner work helped me as a passionate parent, beloved wife, and precisely as an ambitious individual. It’s mindblowing to experience how this honorable work can benefit you in mental, physical, spiritual, social, and emotional aspects of life.

Did my experiences of inner work strike a chord with you? Please share your valuable thoughts and experiences. Everyone has a lesson to teach.

Tens of claps and comments are sincerely appreciated. Thanks for reading.

I write to ‘shrink’ the issues on this life journey where spirituality introspects with overall well-being.

Join me on this rewarding and captivating inner-work therapy.

Photo by Amanda Jones on Unsplash

--

--

Rosie Sha
Wake. Write. Win.

A teacher, linguist and translator, who's also a spiritual soul and holistic health care advocate. I write about inner work therapy for our holistic wellbeing.