My Encounter with an Exploding Egg

Lvk
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2024

Lessons Learnt

Well the title will seem confusing , an egg explosion ! Something that no one has ever imagined, has occurred to me.

This happened when I was in my 9th grade. I like any teenager, was a handful . My father was away on a work trip and me and mom were alone at home. I was chilling , watching T.V after completing my homework.

Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

For dinner , as I wanted to keep it light , mom decided to give me a boiled egg. She boiled the egg in a microwave ,as she wanted to do it quickly. She came and gave me a plate and warned me not to eat it immediately. I was too engrossed in watching TV, I didn’t even hear what she was saying. I raised my hand and took a bite.

Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

All I remember was a pop sound and a burning sensation on my lips. The plate fell out of my hands and and I was shrieking and panicking, running around the living room. The egg had burst and burned my lips. My mom came running to ask what happened and scolded me instead, for making a ruckus. She realized the gravity of the situation only when I showed her my burned lips.

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Without wasting time, she applied a balm on my lips ,it was a temporary relief but I had to apply ice packs at regular intervals. The next day, she took me to a doctor . He was our family physician and this was a very peculiar case for him . His laughter boomed in the room when he came to know what happened .He never had a patient who burned her lips due to an egg burst. He gave some medications and told me to rest. It was a small wound and I was told it will get better within few weeks. Slowly, I observed that my lips were getting black as the burned part of the lips were drying out. I panicked like any other teen would at that instance.

Photo by Dev Asangbam on Unsplash

You know how teenagers are, consious about looks and about what others have to say .I avoided going out thinking how people will perceive me. Even if I had to , I used to cover my lips with a handkerchief. That resulted in people staring at me more. I was cranky and rude to people around me. I was not what I used to be. I realized that it was messing up with my head.

I started going out without the handkerchief . People did stare at me but I stared back and smiled at them. I consider that as a win. You see, when you face your fears , fear becomes weak. It was not a huge problem until I made it out to be. Our biggest loss is when we give power to our fears. I did get better within a few weeks ,but this incident really changed my perception towards appearance pressure. I do not regret that phase of my life instead I got to learn more about myself.

To summarize, the Lessons I learnt from this small incident was

  1. To face our fears head on and
  2. to never boil an egg in a microwave without water. Ever !!

I have made a small cartoon short on how to test an Egg ,feel free to watch

Thank you , Have a good day

--

--