Should I Give Up or Should I Write?

Writing every day but still have only 22 followers with no notifications at all

Ulfa
Wake. Write. Win.
3 min readMay 20, 2024

--

Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash

It’s familiar to us, when things don’t go as we expected, we feel disappointed, unmotivated, and worse about ourselves.

It feels like we’ve put in enough effort, yet we end up with nothing.

Looking around, it seems so easy for others to achieve victories in their lives; their writings are well-received, and people are happy to leave appreciative comments.

Then, I found myself wondering if writing just wasn’t my path, and maybe I’m not talented at all.

These thoughts momentarily dampened my enthusiasm for writing.

But then, I took a moment to reflect and realized that it wasn’t a lack of writing ability, bad luck, or failure that was the issue. It’s that I was more obsessed with the outcome than the passion itself.

Obsession of the engagements

I wasn’t writing for myself, for my ideas and feelings, but for the results I wanted to achieve — the flood of notifications, the claps, the comments, and the followers. I was writing for engagement!

This led to an inner conflict — was it wrong to write for engagement? Isn’t everything ultimately about that?

Maybe it’s true that, in the end, it’s about engagement, money, and so on. And another inner voice tries to convince me, but the writing would be different if I approached it without being obsessed with the outcome.

So then, I give myself a shot at being in the tendency of not focusing on results.

Because I know that in the end, if I don’t meet them, I’ll feel like I’ve failed and end up feeling worse about myself.

Again, I try to convince myself in my mind, the lack of feedback or the absence of notifications is really okay. It’s okay if we don’t get the expected response!

Goals are overrated

Someone said to me that goals provide short-term motivation; they aren’t the source of long-term motivation.

This resonates with me as well, because this happened to me yesterday.

Whenever I wanted to write right away, I constantly needed a new dose of willpower because I was too focused on the immediate results of my writing.

But when it comes to passion, it drives progress and optimizes work energy, rather than wasting energy on resisting those unexpected results.

I mean, with the right mindset, we could be happier and in a better mood.

This slight mindset shift turns what seemed difficult into a positive, enjoyable experience.

I convinced myself on mind, the real win comes from improving yourself every day, and the engagements and thing you want to achieve will take care of themselves.

Thus, here I am, learning to be okay even when things don’t go as planned right away. And I’m letting go of disappointments because I’m going to work on my passion, not an obsession, anymore.

--

--

Ulfa
Wake. Write. Win.

One who still trying to figure life out and loves sharing the story of my everyday life.