How 30 Seconds Turned into Wasted Hours

Day-3 of #WriteForWellnessChallenge

Jaswanthi Mamidisetty
Wake. Write. Win.
3 min readMay 3, 2024

--

Image by Mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

Just Imagine!!

It’s a beautiful morning, and you wake up intending to make your day productive.

But then, a notification interrupts your chain of thoughts.

It’s just some random message from your service provider.

Before placing it down, you decide to quickly check some of your emails; maybe you might have received some important ones. Why risk that, right?

But again then, before putting your phone down, you think of just scrolling through Instagram, “Just a couple of reels” you tell yourself.

But those thirty seconds of reels turned into hours of scrolling, and you never knew how time slipped from your hands.

When you finally stop scrolling and look at the time, you realize that the morning has already passed.

The day that you planned to be a productive one has now turned out to be futile.

You feel frustrated and start hating yourself for not doing anything productive. With this disturbance in your mind, you are unable to concentrate on other tasks, as the guilt of wasting time is eating you from within.

You find yourself trapped in this vicious cycle where you find no way out.

Now, ask yourself do you want this imagination to turn into a reality.

No, right?

Ironically, the very device that you are holding in your hands, which is supposed to increase your productivity is the reason behind the time slipping away from you.

For the last couple of months, I’ve been so addicted to my phone that I’ve been mindlessly scrolling throughout the day, unable to stop until I’ve drained my phone battery.

Even though I hated it, I couldn’t resist checking my phone repeatedly, endlessly swiping through reels.

Whenever I felt anxious, I turned to reels and checked my phone.

Whenever I felt lonely, my phone was my immediate source of comfort.

For every emotion, my only go-to became “My phone.”

But at some point, it has to stop, right?

Doomscrolling has been found to impact our mental health and reduce our attention span. So some action has to be taken.

So I tried to implement various ways to reduce my screen time, and by following them religiously, I found myself feeling much better.

In the next blog, I will try to include some tips to reduce screen time that I personally followed. Stay tuned!

If you enjoyed my blog, please give it clap and share your story of social media addiction, along with the steps you’re taking to overcome it.

Link to Day-2 of #WriteForWellnessChallenge

If you also want to join the #WriteForWellnessChallenge, please go through this attached blog and make sure to share your interest in the comments section.

Vepa Gayathri and Revine Lee have also joined me for #WriteForWellnessChallenge, make sure to check their blogs too.

--

--

Jaswanthi Mamidisetty
Wake. Write. Win.

A place where you will find blogs on data analysis , book summaries and unfiltered thoughts .