Areeba Muhammad Ali
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
3 min readApr 28, 2024

--

Don’t Judge A Book By It’s Cover:

Photo by M. on Unsplash

Sometimes what we see may not be the reality. We should try to avoid judging people without knowing the truth. Making false assumptions about someone based on their appearance alone leads to negativity such as hurting them, and destroying valuable relationships.
 . . .
There was a girl named Elsa in my college. She was labelled as rude, arrogant and unfriendly. These judgments were solely based on her lack of interaction with people and being an introvert.
Whoever tried to talk to her ended up being disappointed by her haughty attitude and unwillingness in the conversation.
As a result, no one talked to her, she seemed to be lonely all day, writing something in her notebook and watching others enjoying their friend’s company.
Upon seeing her, I felt that there may be something going on in her life which was causing her to act rudely. So out of curiosity, one day I decided to approach her and had a conversation to understand the reason behind her impolite behaviour.
She preferred to sit on the last bench. So I sat next to her and initiated a conversation. At first, she seemed uninterested but I continued and didn’t give up easily.
During our conversation, I came to know that she lived alone with her busy father, and unfortunately, her mother passed away. She did not have any siblings or friends. She said, "I always tell my father I can’t live alone but he don’t care and consider me".This left her emotionally isolated and suffering mental trauma.
It was so difficult for her to cope with feelings as she had no one to confide in since her father had a job the whole day so she had to live alone all day.
Her eyes were overwhelmed with tears. She said, "I hate my life and everybody in this world.No one is with me I am alone in this world, I miss you, Mom".
I was feeling sorry for her. I was so sad and confused and didn’t know what to say. I mean the girl who I thought was rude and arrogant turned out to be mentally disturbed. I and everyone in the class misjudged her.
I told her that I would always be there for her and be her best friend and assured her that she could discuss anything with me. A sense of hope developed in her eyes when I told this to her.
One of the biggest lessons I have learned in my life is to never judge a book by its cover. We never know what someone’s story is until we get to know them.
We live in a world where there are billions of people but still, there are many people who are mentally alone and being judged. I do believe that by understanding and relieving those people’s struggle I and everyone can make a real difference in this world.

Writing Contest On Medium:
https://medium.com/wake-write-win/join-my-300-writing-contest-on-medium-until-april-30-d80aeac2a8b8

--

--

Areeba Muhammad Ali
Wake. Write. Win.

I am Areeba. I prefer to think and write rather than overthinking✨