EDUCATION| CORRECTION|ACADEMICS| LEARNING| UNIVERSITY

The Day I Humbly Corrected My Prof

In every rule, there is always an exception.

Chinedu V. Onyema
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
4 min readMar 29, 2024

--

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

We were in the first year of the university first semester. The story behind that particular course was such of shock and awe.

Many students had failed the course woefully. Many would return to rewrite it as a carried-over subject.

Others were frightened by the fact that it was handled by a Professor whose body and verbal language was full of frightening mien and intellectual terrorism (sorry: only used for the sake of effect).

Several other students had seemed to have failed the course even before sitting for the proper examination. The fear of the course plus the fear of the Prof equalled automatic repetition of the course.

That particular day, however, perhaps another spirit had entered inside of me. Or, better still: I would not have needed to be scared of something just because others were.

In short, I was simply myself. I did not envisage anything nor regarded it as any special event, as it were.

The Prof was lecturing in his usual manner. He had given examples of certain verbs and their subtly (un)predictable forms — cunningly capable of…

--

--

Chinedu V. Onyema
Wake. Write. Win.

From the influence of intuitive inspiration to the affluence of gracious Grace and to confluence of ideas, I write. "Life would be tragic if it weren't funny."