The Solace I Find in Writing.

Hannah H
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
2 min readJun 5, 2024
Photo by Eye for Ebony on Unsplash

We write to inspire.

We write to entertain.

We write so others can learn, grow, and relate to our experiences.

We write for ourselves.

Why do you write? Is it for any of the reasons stated above?

Personally, I experience a joyful feeling when my fingers glide across the keyboard and words begin to flow onto the page, as I’m doing at this very moment.

As a child, I enjoyed reading Lemony Snicket’s novels, particularly the range of books in “A Series of Unfortunate Events” which allowed me to venture into a world filled with mystery and endless possibilities. This inspired my writing process whether I poured my thoughts onto the page in the form of fictional stories or potential song lyrics.

Photo by Luisa Brimble on Unsplash

I’ve even written on Wattpad when unfiltered and stereotypical romance stories took the internet by storm. Looking back, I can’t help but cringe at my writing style but at the time, it was a creative way that allowed me to express myself freely.

Although I still have a way to go, my writing has certainly improved, and I look forward to the journey ahead. Over the years and throughout my time on Medium, writing has become quite comforting to me, especially when I focus on topics, I’m passionate about rather than claps and comments.

We’re all writers here on Medium working towards different goals but sharing one common purpose: an appreciation for writing driven by our personal goals or experiences.

Here’s to our continued growth and success on this platform!

Thanks for reading, I appreciate it!

How has your journey on Medium been thus far?

--

--

Hannah H
Wake. Write. Win.

Hi! I'm Hannah from Barbados🇧🇧. I write about movies and other topics that pop into my mind. For freelance inquires contact me: hannahanne-marie@outlook.com