This One Thing Can be the Motivation for You to Start Writing

This was the encouragement that got me started

Tonia Bakare
Wake. Write. Win.
3 min readApr 9, 2024

--

Photo by Annika Gordon on Unsplash

Create dangerously, for people who read dangerously…Writing, knowing in part that no matter how trivial your words may seem, someday, somewhere, someone may risk their life to read them.

– Edwidge Danticat

My love affair with books began when I was a child. I would rather read than write and for a long time I could not bring myself to write anything. I had these stories in my head that were screaming to get out but I kept them locked in tight. A few times, I would start writing something then stop and pick up a book to read instead. It was also a way to escape and not have to deal with the unpleasantness happening around me. I have so many jotters and notebooks all around the house and I hardly step out without one. When I read something that strikes me or a great idea occurs to me, I note them down with plans to write about them later.

Sometimes, when I’m sitting by myself, I can hold a full talking session on any topic in my head, discussing points and ideas. I remind myself to write down everything but more often than not, I don’t do it.

I have heard it said that great readers make good writers and I have read my fair share of books and still do. A couple of years ago, when I gave myself an ultimatum to start writing, I got rid of over 90% of the fiction books I owned at the time. I gave them out to friends and family reasoning that if I didn’t have them around me maybe then I won’t be tempted to continue wasting time to read them when I should be writing. That decision didn’t do much good in terms of the results I expected but I have no regrets because it was a start.

The excuses and reasons holding me back were the usual ones — fear of criticism, no time, laziness, and a lack of confidence in my abilities to write what anyone would be interested in reading.

The one thing that finally did it for me is the thought that it is selfish to keep all the knowledge, talents, skills, and experiences you have to yourself without sharing them because there are many people out there who could benefit from them. I have also discovered that when you share you learn because you receive useful feedback on the ideas that will help you to improve.

Share what you know because someone else may need that knowledge.

Knowing that my experiences in different aspects of life — work, marriage, parenting, volunteering, relationships, and mental health, are things I can share with others has been liberating. Being an introvert, it’s sometimes a struggle to openly share certain things but there are lessons that I feel safe enough to share. It’s also comforting to realise that other people have had similar experiences and we learn and grow through what they share.

I’m grateful to everyone who has supported me on this journey here on Medium. It’s been a great motivation to keep going.

Thank you for reading. Blessings. 🙏

You can also support me by buying me a cup of tea here.

--

--

Tonia Bakare
Wake. Write. Win.

Christian. Mental Health and Wellness. Personal Development. Lawyer. Love books. Love poetry. Love sharing knowledge and learning. anthoniabakare@gmail.com