Under Critique

Reflections Triggered by an Instagram Post

William
Wake. Write. Win.
5 min readApr 5, 2024

--

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Yesterday while scrolling through Instagram, I came across a striking photo of a girl. As I glanced at the comments section, I noticed some remarks about her body, suggesting she was too skinny and urging her to eat more for a healthier physique. Though most comments were well-intentioned and friendly in tone.

After checking her Instagram bio, I learned that she’s a model, standing at about 5 feet 10 inches (178 cm) tall, and weighs just 48 kg. Yes, she is quite slender.

However, I was conflicted. It wasn’t the first time I’d seen comments critiquing people’s bodies, especially women’s. Ariana Grande is one of my favorite female singers, but unfortunately, she often faces scrutiny over her appearance. And this has been ongoing for quite some time.

Last year, if I recall correctly, she received a lot of criticism, with people claiming she had lost too much weight despite her repeated assurances of good health. Despite her efforts to reassure everyone, concerns persisted, and some even speculated that she might be suffering from anorexia. It’s frustrating to see such criticisms, especially considering that as a female artist with millions of fans, some argue that her extremely slender figure sets a negative example for young girls.

Another notable example is the figure of the famous American singer and rapper Lizzo, whose body has sparked controversy since her debut. Unlike Ariana Grande, Lizzo has faced criticism for being perceived as too fat. Despite her undeniable talent as a rapper and singer, much of the attention seems to be directed towards her body rather than her musical abilities.

However, most of these comments appear to be cloaked in “concern” and “care.” The typical format goes something like this: “Hey Ari, as your fan, I’ve noticed you’re looking tired lately. I’m genuinely worried about your health. Please don’t lose any more weight. Take care of yourself.” Or, “Hey Lizzo, I’m not here to body shame you, but I think it’s important to mention that your weight isn’t healthy. I hope you consider losing some for the sake of your well-being, not just your appearance.”

You might argue that these comments come from a place of genuine concern for their idols. However, upon closer examination, they reveal a form of “well-intentioned moral policing.” These individuals freely pass judgment and critique others’ bodies under the guise of “doing what’s best for you.”

Why do I make this claim? Because these comments are often based solely on a single image or video. We have no insight into these artists’ lives or well-being. Only they themselves truly understand their bodies and health. If their weight genuinely posed health risks, I trust they would address it on their own terms.

I often find myself wondering why people place so much emphasis on women’s appearance while frequently overlooking their talents. There’s a saying I’ve heard that goes, “If you don’t have a good-looking appearance, how will anyone see your inner beauty?” Is there truth to this? Is this why those comments tend to prioritize a female artist’s physical appearance over her talents? Does it send a message that says, “You need to be physically attractive first, and then I’ll pay attention to your talents?” Should it really be in this particular order?

And I’ve also heard a lot of comments about models or pretty women, such as: “Models or pretty women don’t have brains” or “They are dumb and not interesting.” The reasoning behind these comments is often that being a model or a good-looking woman doesn’t require any brainpower. Some people even argue that their beauty compensates for any perceived lack of intelligence.

I remember there was a conversation between Skipper and Miranda in ‘Sex and the City’:

Skipper: “So, are women either pretty or interesting?”

Miranda: “What kind of question is that?”

Skipper: “No, I’m just curious. You know, are they one or the other?”

Miranda: “We can’t be both?”

Skipper: “No, I guess I just figured that the really pretty ones are never really that interesting because they never really had to be, you know?”

Miranda: “Oh, I get it. So, which one am I?”

Skipper: “No, I mean, you’re interesting.”

Miranda: “Oh, so I’m not pretty?”

Skipper: “No, I mean, you’re pretty too.”

Miranda: “But not too pretty, right?”

So, can women be both pretty and interesting at the same time, or do they have to be one or the other?

This conversation from a series about 20 years ago still resonates today, as we continue to debate this topic. The most frustrating thing is that many people still believe women can’t have it all. Despite the fact that there are countless women around us who are both pretty, interesting, and talented simultaneously.

However, the challenges discussed earlier represent just one facet of the myriad societal issues confronting women. It’s important to recognize that in numerous regions around the globe, women continue to be denied even the most fundamental human rights.

I came across an interview where it was stated that achieving true gender equality for women would take at least another 300 years. I’m not sure what scientific basis there is for this timeline. However, considering the fact that we’re still grappling with questions raised by ‘Sex and the City’ two decades ago leads me to ponder whether such a lengthy timeline might indeed be necessary for substantial progress toward gender equality.

I acknowledge that this is a significant and sensitive topic in today’s society. I’ve deliberated on whether to address it, particularly because my writing has primarily centered around my personal experiences. Additionally, as a man, I understand that some may question my ability to fully grasp these issues. However, it’s worth noting that despite being male, I am also a member of the LGBTQ+ community, which places me in a vulnerable or minority group. Like women, we too are advocating for our rights. While our motivations may vary, we share common adversaries. I hope that my exploration of this subject today will not provoke any dissatisfaction or controversy.

--

--