Undo

I Am

Familiar does not equal safe

Leigh-Ann Steenkamp
Wake. Write. Win.

--

A view of a river and trees through burglar bars in front of a window
Author Photography: Trapped

The macabre, gruesome, horrifying and most unsuitable (15)

Darkness hated the light
Smouldering flames
Hastily stamped out
I will stomp on your head

On your chest
Snap your ribs like toothpicks
We are plural
Looking through your eyes

Don’t try to get rid of us
You can’t
Get used to it
We are dominant

Dominantly love
I want to feel good
Breathe the air of the free
The just and righteous

I want to escape
My self-created cage
Step towards the unknown
Familiar does not equal safe

I am surrounded
By a thousand voices
Loved ones
Outside time and space

Separated only by frequency
When we learn
To see beyond our senses
As if it is real

It can all be duplicated
In mind alone
We are not our bodies
We are everywhere

I give you the flowers
Of my heart
Right where I am
Where you are

Death in us all
You are alive
I am dead
In me

You can’t save me
By thinking it
You need to feel your way there
Care for me

Nothing could ever happen to me
Outside time and space
In the realm of the undead
Away from the living

Breathing chain around my neck
Let’s pray
Restore the balance
Stop living in a tomb

Reading the records of the dead
The past is gone now
Governed by the ghosts
Of the subconscious mind

Let’s bury them, together
The messages of the past
Will fade away
When we stop

Bowing before it
The outer paint will peel
And the true Master
Will reveal Himself

It is real in My mind
I am happy
I am free
He is guiding me now

A close-up of a bright pink flower with several water drops on its petals
Author Photography: Impala Lily Tears

Personal Note:

I deserve to be happy. I expect good things to come to me.

Dumelang bohle!!! African Greetings!!! Please support me so I can continue to do what makes my spirit feel alive and feeds my soul; and that is to express myself through words and photos every day.

Ko-Fi

https://ko-fi.com/leighannsteenkamp

I do not currently qualify for the Medium Partner Program due to country location; South Africa.

A collage compiled to showcase outreach work initiatives in local community
Collage Compiled By Author On Canva: Outreach Work

--

--

Leigh-Ann Steenkamp
Wake. Write. Win.

Author, Photographer. I specialize in Creative Writing and Storytelling with an emphasis on Mental Health, Philosophy, Trauma, Abuse, Psychology and Crime.