Undo

Blessed

Re-incarnations of the restless

Leigh-Ann Steenkamp
Wake. Write. Win.

--

A home made cart being drawn by donkeys on a gravel road in a rural setting, with a young African boy guiding them
Author Photography: Donkey Cart Burgersfort

The macabre, gruesome, horrifying and most unsuitable (18)

Blessed be Thy name
Let’s rejoice
And praise the Lord God
Yahweh in the building

Across the street
It is only you
Walking around unaided
Naked glimpsed

In the mirror
In the live parade
The Emperor
Without clothes on

Everyone sees your nakedness
But you
Live in your head
Daydreaming

And at night
You come alive
Blessed in Divine right
Planning every detail

Stalking your next
Breathing down their neck
Drinking in their innocence
Fatal ignorance

Their blood running
Down your chin
Catch it try to
Keep it contain it

While the heart is still
Beating before the shell
Reclaims it
Before the veins shrivel

And contort
Like the possessed
I wear you now
Your air in me

I still taste you
In the gaps between my teeth
Everything I touch
Only dies

Only turns to gold exalted
Elevated in alignment
With my soul-path
Blessed be thy children

Re-incarnations of the restless
We can all congregate sing together
Write a new Hymn
I will teach them

Right from wrong
For them
We are all different
But from the same Source

Blessed be thy hands
That took the hammer
And hit the nails
In the wood

Drove it home
You chose to do that
Built it up in your head
Out of control now

Maybe but back then
You could have
Made a different choice
Blessed be thy soul

Forever wandering
Forever pure
Wondering what you
Should have done

How it could have been
Different
Nothing else matters
Only you

A drone shot of a meandering gravel road in a gorge flanked by mountains
Author Photography: Zigzag

Personal note:

I will not apologize for who I am. Ever.

Dumelang bohle!!! African Greetings!!! Please support me so I can continue to do what makes my spirit feel alive and feeds my soul; and that is to express myself through words and photos every day.

Ko-Fi

https://ko-fi.com/leighannsteenkamp

I do not currently qualify for the Medium Partner Program due to country location; South Africa.

A Foundation Logo combating unemployment in South Africa with Proteas and a forest scene in pink as well as some writing in Sepedi
LAS Foundation Logo

--

--

Leigh-Ann Steenkamp
Wake. Write. Win.

Author, Photographer. I specialize in Creative Writing and Storytelling with an emphasis on Mental Health, Philosophy, Trauma, Abuse, Psychology and Crime.