Undo

Run

You know what you did

Leigh-Ann Steenkamp
Wake. Write. Win.

--

A black tracking dog with a brown leather collar staring into the distance
Author Photography: Tracker 2

The macabre, gruesome, horrifying and most unsuitable

I see it now
Clarity of intent
I see you running
Away from yourself

From me
Dust-pockets where you fall
On your face
On your feet

A bigger target
When you retreat
I feel it now
Clarity of desire

To see you squirm struggle shudder
Shriek in pain
You know what you did
Don’t fight against it

You only make it stronger
I hear it now
Clarity of choice
Freedom taste wonderful

Get away from me
While you still can
Before you become
One of my souvenirs

Frozen in time in place
Run like hell
I like the chase
My eternal quest evolution

I want more
There is no going back
From here
I get what I am thinking about

I am thinking about you
About us
About belief
Belief is only a thought

We keep on thinking repeating
I never lost myself
I am here
Home is a nice place

Where-ever I am
Full of my collectables
Memories
Of the first time

I saw her face
Her smile tears
Blood running
Through her veins

Beating of her heart
Of me
Slicing her open
Muscles veins viscera

Shiny membrane
Slippery moistness
Sliding through my hands
You awake too

Sharing
It won’t save you
You were marked
Before it all even began

In my crosshairs
Breathe in and out
Three times it must be
Always three maybe four

At all times
Otherwise I can’t
Focus steady now
Finger curling gently squeezing

Boom
This is how it all began
Someone took from me
Now I take it all back

Author sitting on a rock on Mariepskop mountain taking a picture of the splendid view
Author Photography: Leigh Marieps view

Personal Note:

I know now what I wish I knew before.

Dumelang bohle!!! African Greetings!!! Please support me so I can continue to do what makes my spirit feel alive and feeds my soul; and that is to express myself through words and photos every day.

Ko-Fi

https://ko-fi.com/leighannsteenkamp

I do not currently qualify for the Medium Partner Program due to country location; South Africa.

A Foundation Logo combating unemployment in South Africa with Proteas and a forest scene in pink as well as some writing in Sepedi
LAS Foundation Logo

--

--

Leigh-Ann Steenkamp
Wake. Write. Win.

Author, Photographer. I specialize in Creative Writing and Storytelling with an emphasis on Mental Health, Philosophy, Trauma, Abuse, Psychology and Crime.