Undo

Tainted

I live with no regret

Leigh-Ann Steenkamp
Wake. Write. Win.

--

A carcass of a poached white rhino
Author Photography: Poached White Rhino

The macabre, gruesome, horrifying and most unsuitable (16)

You are still
Living in a tomb
Re-infecting yourself
By disrupting your flow

Repressing your inner urges
Conflicts
Your true nature
Calling

Your name on her lips
With her mouth
She said it
What you wanted to hear

You keep the past
Alive in you
Nurture it
You let it

Swim in the waters of life
Pigs decapitate themselves
When swimming
It is up to you

To tell your improved story
Of a better you
Tell your story
The way you want it to be

The way you want to see it
Satisfied and eager
For more
Savour this moment

Let enjoyment last
There is no resistance
In satisfaction
It must feel

Delicious to you
In its current state
Now could be more
Had you remembered

Yesterday
To make an effort
To plan ahead
To see the bigger picture

You could be
Where I am
In heaven now
Blissfully unaware of you

My shadow
Your plight paranoia
Maybe I see you
But I definitely don’t care

The subtle art
Of not giving a fuck
It was always only me
I always was

Enough
I never needed more
Than me
Being happy

At ease
One
There is nothing
To feel concerned about

Your words have painted me
Coloured me in
In-between the lifelines
Your presence tainted me

Your sour breath
Of sorrow neediness
I live
With no regret

A Caucasian female leg wearing blue yoga pants and black shoes, resting on a rock, during a grueling hike in nature
Author Photography: Hiking Foot

Personal Note:

The other part of my personality is not separate. We are all equally guilty.

Dumelang bohle!!! African Greetings!!! Please support me so I can continue to do what makes my spirit feel alive and feeds my soul; and that is to express myself through words and photos every day.

Ko-Fi

https://ko-fi.com/leighannsteenkamp

I do not currently qualify for the Medium Partner Program due to country location; South Africa.

A Foundation Logo combating unemployment in South Africa with Proteas and a forest scene in pink as well as some writing in Sepedi
LAS Foundation Logo

--

--

Leigh-Ann Steenkamp
Wake. Write. Win.

Author, Photographer. I specialize in Creative Writing and Storytelling with an emphasis on Mental Health, Philosophy, Trauma, Abuse, Psychology and Crime.