WHO ARE YOU - Discovering Yourself

From a teenager to another teenager
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2024

Have you ever said to someone- “I know that person, he won’t ever do this”, but have you ever wondered how can you expect to know someone else when you don’t even know yourself.

Yesterday I engaged in a casual conversation with a friend of mine, I asked him a weird question: “Is dying by drowning a good way to die?” My friend responded “Why drown in water when I’m already drowning in the endless waves of my own thoughts about myself?

Photo by RDNE Stock project, Pexels.com

When I later thought about it I found myself thinking that true challenge is not how to get to know others well but how to know “yourself”, about how much we know our own thoughts and feelings.

Here’s what I wrote as I thought to myself:

How well do I know me?

Who am I

What am I doing

Where am I headed to

When these three are the only questions you’ve chased all your life, which got me into thinking, aren’t we all just chasing, some chasing peace, some happiness, some money but something is common, we all chasing ourselves

When confusion becomes your best friend, overthinking your fav past time and always wondering your reality

When you can figure all those tough maths equations and all the science questions you were afraid of, but just unable to figure yourself

When you know which questions you attempted wrong in the exam but don’t know where the things started to go wrong

When you know they are your own feelings, you own aspirations, your own dreams, all within you but yet far away somewhere hiding intentionally from you

When you know what your parents want, what your friend asked you for, what your brother was angry for but not what you are sad for

When you know what everyone expects from you but not what you expect from yourself

Just know you’re not your parent’s son/daughter, not your friend’s bff, not your sister’s sibling

You are just you

As I am just me

When you feel like a star in the night sky, shinning, dimming, then shinning, then again dimming, waiting for it’s time to just shine, afraid to get lost in the dark sky

Don’t forget that stars only shine when surrounded by darkness:

The darker the night, the brighter you shine

Life is just like a sine wave, we can’t just sit on the top, it has to keep going, it has to go down to reach the top again.

A sine wave, Photo by the author, Deepanshi

--

--

From a teenager to another teenager
Wake. Write. Win.

A 19 year old teenager. If you are also confused and struck like me too, do read my posts. Will be happy to have discussions about it.