Why Nothing Scares Me Anymore

Sal
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2024

--

I’ve been going through some work recently, a lot of which has asked me to explore my fears.

This isn’t about spiders or clowns, it’s about the fear that keep you up at night, those sweaty demons that dig their hooks in while you’re young and then plague you for the rest of your life.

For example, the fear of failure.

Failure looms large as a concept from an early age.

We fail at party games.

We don’t pass the test in school.

We don’t get the girl/guy.

I’ve been looking at failure as part of the work I’ve been doing on myself.

I’ve been looking at failure, and the fear of failure, and I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s all a bunch of horsesh*t.

You see, failure doesn’t actually exist.

It’s not real.

Pick any event or experience in your life that you considered a ‘failure’ and I defy you to be able to pinpoint the actual reason why you could call it a failure.

Instead…

Not passing that test just means you didn’t make the grade, which is a number or letter that you are more than welcome to try and make again.

--

--

Sal
Wake. Write. Win.

Here to help you wake up, smell the gasoline, and help others with your experience.