Tabitha
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
5 min readApr 28, 2024

--

Writers and Readers All Over the World, this Is for You.

Photo by Tejasvi Ganjoo on Unsplash

I intentionally entered this piece for the contest because it stands a chance to reach a lot of other people.

Everyone likes the sound of a contest, so here is where everyone will want to be.

Writers and readers are a blessing in disguise, and joining Medium made me realize that. A writer’s hard-written piece changes the reader’s world, and the reader’s engagement makes up the writer’s whole universe.

It’s a win-win situation; they both smile and have the best day of their lives despite life’s challenges.

April wasn't the prettiest of months like I hoped it would be (aren't we used to things like that now?), but something happened.

Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

I wasn’t feeling deserted for the very first time, like I normally would when facing challenges. I felt stronger; I was less bothered. I was able to stop caring for a second to ease my late-night migraines. Most importantly, I didn’t feel alone, like I had no one to talk to, because I do.

I wasn’t expecting that this journey on Medium would keep me sane; I only decided to try. I released my first few articles, and people were really supportive (I least expected it).

Meeting Janis Gross was a turning point, which I least expected when I joined. Publication was alien to me. What were those? How do you get into one? Then along came Janis Gross.

I'm very sure you just don't go inviting authors unless you see potential, am I right? Well, that little action of his reminded me why I was a writer to begin with. The chains of self-doubt bounding my mind broke off, and I was able to process how purpose mattered more than seeking acceptance. Did I ever mention how nice he was?

Photo by Taylor Harper on Unsplash

It almost felt surreal. How can someone be that nice? I was used to sour editors who wouldn't give your work a second glance once they saw misplaced punctuation. I even apologized for wasting their time. For real, I’ve been treading a desert for too long.

After following Janis Gross into Wake. Write. Win, I met Kyle L., who gave me a redefinition of support. He’s someone you run to for inquiries to prevent embarrassing yourself. He made it clear that you can provide feedback without the I’m a mean editor attitude. Ride The Wave has given me no reason to complain at all.

ChyAmakamike. is ever so outspoken and engaging; that is gold in the world of writers. I recently just found out that she really is a sister; we’re from the same country.

Photo by Eea Ikeda on Unsplash

Brenna Clark’s article is so down to earth, not far-fetched, and it puts you right into the moment of the action. I can’t explain it enough without running out of words. Once I told myself, “You know you don’t have all the time in the world. Just branch Medium, check your notification, and leave, deal? Deal.”

I opened up Medium, and the first article was Brenna Clark’s. "Well, I guess we have to make an exception this time then." After that, the rest is a web of engagement and inspiration.

Do you know Martynas Ki. (@strangecash)? He’s someone worth knowing. It was just the first article I posted in his publication, and he hoped Medium would add more countries to the Medium Partner Program. He was looking out for someone he didn’t even know, and that’s something I deeply appreciate.

My original hard-written piece gets flagged down as purely AI-generated by AI detectors, and it was beginning to become a problem. Charlie J 🕊️ helped me out of the burden. Taking the time to provide help to someone else in the same field means a whopping lot to that person.

Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

I could go on and on and on about everyone I met here, and I've only been here since March 2024.

The writing community gave me a glimmer of hope and a glimpse of the world we envision. A world filled with pure hearts looking out for others. A world where there are no barriers whatsoever. A cooperative society where every voice matters.

As a writer or a reader, you don't have to think too much about what you do to make the world a better place. Sitting for hours in front of your screen to connect with people helps change their worlds, and spending hours engaging honestly with writers works makes their world a better place.

If you're here as a writer, I really want to thank you for your time. As a reader, you're the grand piece of success.

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

I sincerely thank all my followers for hitting that follow button or even that subscribe button.

Writers and readers are one big supportive community, and you’re all living testaments to that.

To be completely sincere, making the world a better place as a whole can take a really long time, but we can make the world a better place for ourselves as a community of writers and readers before extending the spirit. We are making a trend.

Let’s all write our hearts out and read to satisfaction; even if the going gets tough, we’ll do just fine.

We're making the writer-reader world a better place, one word at a time.

I hope I'm making your worlds too, just like you’re making mine.

Photo by Klara Kulikova on Unsplash

This story is participating in the contest: Write for a better world.

--

--

Tabitha
Wake. Write. Win.

You are not alone, I promise. Join me for daily doses of reality, served through a blend of fiction, non-fiction, articles, blogs, and poetry.