Preparing For The Camino de Santiago

How I got myself ready for walking five hundred miles

Nick Barlow
Walk The Walk

--

Walking the Camino de Santiago earlier this year was one of the best experiences of my life. It was an amazing way to step out from the world and spend time with myself as I walked the length of Spain… but I’ve already written about all that.

The Camino was incredible, but what helped me to enjoy it rather than merely endure it was the preparation I’d done beforehand. By getting myself physically and mentally ready for it, I was able to be part of the experience and not get distracted by little things throughout.

I’m going to share the way I prepared here, but I want to be clear that this is me sharing my experience, not laying down a training plan for you. Like when I wrote about doing the London Marathon, this is how…

--

--

Nick Barlow
Walk The Walk

Former academic and politician, now walking, cycling and working out what comes next. https://linktr.ee/nickbarlow