This Week’s Walks

August 10th-17th 2024

Nick Barlow
Walk The Walk
3 min readAug 21, 2024

--

A bit different from the usual for this week, as I knew at the start of it I was heading away for some walking at the weekend, so I rested a little both to store up some energy and to avoid getting a silly injury that would limit my walking while I was away.

I did go for a run on Monday, but as it was sweltering hot and I wanted to try some bits of interval training, I ended up doing that on the treadmill at the gym so I could be cooler, control my pace, and cool down with a swim after that. The next few days were just routine, then on Friday I was up early and heading to Wales, but stopping off on the way to climb The Wrekin, which I wrote about here:

I also took some video up there so people could see the views from the top:

I’m toying with the idea of doing more videos of some of my walks, so do let me know if you’d be interested in that — and, of course, like, comment, subscribe and do whatever else the YouTube algorithm demands of us to get ourselves noticed.

I was staying in Dolgellau in Wales, and once I’d got there and found my AirBNB for the next two nights, I hopped back in the car and headed for the coast, completing a journey from near the east coast to the west in one day (not necessarily recommended, especially when your car is a Peugeot 107). It’s around forty years since I was last in Barmouth, and I suspect some of it hasn’t changed while others have. There certainly wasn’t paddleboarding there last time I was there, and the ice cream selection was a lot more limited. But I had fish and chips for dinner, then a walk along the seafront as the sun began to set, enjoying the golden hour light.

Barmouth by the harbour late in the evening

The next day started with Dolgellau Parkrun, my 243rd run at my 56th different location, and then resisting the urge to wear myself out going up Cadair Idris, I spent a couple of hours doing the Precipice Walk instead:

And after that, I still had some energy in my legs so I took an early evening stroll along the Mawddach Trail, a very flat path along a former railway line, to Penmaenpool where I paid my 30p to walk back and forth over the little wooden toll bridge and take in the views over the Mawddach before taking to the pub for a pint of Robinson’s Unicorn while I watched kayakers heading off down the estuary to Barmouth.

The view from the bridge

After that it was a stroll back along the same path and a relaxed evening ready for a big walk the next day. But that’s a story for next week’s update…

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post and would like to see more from me, you can buy me a coffee to help me out. If you’re a Medium member or subscriber, please clap and share this post so more people see it. You can follow me on Bluesky or on Mastodon at zirk.us and on other social media by following the links here.

--

--

Nick Barlow
Walk The Walk

Former academic and politician, now walking, cycling and working out what comes next. https://linktr.ee/nickbarlow