Welcome to Walk The Walk

A new home for my stories about walking

Nick Barlow
Walk The Walk

--

I walk a lot, and I write about walking a lot.

For those of you who know me or have followed me here or elsewhere for a while, that statement won’t be a surprise. And what comes next isn’t much of a surprise either, save for those who know my ability to procrastinate: I’ve decided to group all my writing about walking into a single publication here.

Yes, that’s right, the one you’re reading now.

A few miles into walking Trek26 around Ullswater thisJune

But as well as collection of what I’ve done before, it’s hopefully going to be a spur to writing and publishing more of my writing about walking. I’m currently working on a book about my experiences and the effects walking has had on my mental health and hopefully I can use this to show some of the parts of that I’m working on, or share the sections that don’t fit within it.

It’s also a motivational tool for me. A publication about walking needs content about walking, and to make content about walking I have to get out there and walk. Having a publication like this, with people waiting to read my writing, should encourage me to get out more and do more. One of the reasons I’m starting this now is because I have another long walk planned over the coming weeks as I take on the Essex Way, but once I reach the end of that, I’ll be looking for more.

Walking is important to me because it can include so many things within it. At one level it’s just a way of getting from one place to another on your own, at another it’s a way of exploring the world and finding places you can only reach on foot, in yet another it’s a way of making time for yourself, when you can relax into your own mind to think and explore within.

I want to try and reflect that range of experience within Walk The Walk, so there’ll be a range of posts here. Some will be guides to walks so you can get out and follow in my footsteps, some looking back on walks I’ve done, others looking at wider themes and thoughts sparked off while walking. If that sounds like it would be of interest to you then please follow and subscribe to this publication, and clap and share this post so others can find it too.

On the way to Grandas de Salime on the Camino Primitivo

Thanks for reading! If you want to see more of me and my writing, you can follow me on Mastodon at zirk.us and on other social media too, or subscribe to my posts using the box below. If you want to support me you can buy me a coffee, and help promote my working by clapping below and sharing it with other readers.

--

--

Nick Barlow
Walk The Walk

Former academic and politician, now walking, cycling and working out what comes next. https://linktr.ee/nickbarlow