HEALTH

Swinging and Weight and Camino de Santiago

Getting healthy, staying healthy, and reflecting on post-COVID years

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
Travel Memoirs
Published in
5 min readOct 3, 2022

--

Selfie by author

I got out of bed and thought, “Get your ass on the scale, and today’s going to be a great day.”

I stepped on the scale, as I do most mornings.

Since I stopped using my pre-packaged weight loss shakes and bars, I’m up a gasping seven pounds. That’s in eight weeks, so you can do the math.

I have lots of diet shakes left, and they’re actually pretty tasty. Mocha. Coffee flavored. Chocolate-cherry!

I have a Magic bullet blender and just mix the damn things up with ice.

Until 4 p.m., I’m drinking shakes or eating cardboard mustard-flavored twigs.

Then, I eat a big salad with chicken or some protein, and weight falls again. I’m focused on this now, as it’s morning and I haven’t yet screwed up my resolve by eating toast!

“Broken diet brain” means that if I make an error in judgment, I could completely lose my shit and commit another mortal sin — like eat another piece of toast with butter. Or (Satan, be gone!) a slice of swiss cheese!

When I got COVID in June, I stopped using the shakes and bars. I ate when I wanted, what I…

--

--