32 Miles Throughout Chicago

Feels Like Home

Dania Odeh
walking chicago 2017
4 min readSep 6, 2017

--

I am not a fan of walking. Actually, I never really got the opportunity to explore and go walking. My mom is very over protective, so I stay close to home. When I go to the city I only see it from the inside of a car. This all changed when I decided to begin a journey to experience Chicago through walking.

My journey begins at Lincoln Park. I start walking down the street; I take a left, then a right, then a left again. As I am walking, I receive at least a dozen smiles. I keep walking towards the River, and all of a sudden it gets quiet and peaceful. The sun touches my face as the breeze flies right through me. As I head back to Sheffield, I think about how welcoming Lincoln Park is. Although it wasn’t home, it felt like home. Five miles complete.

Next, I travel to Division Street. I go up to the top floor of the Joh Hancock Center. Staring down at the city, I feel a rush of empowerment. The city is still and I am moving above it. As I start to walk on Division Street, I realize how loud, busy, and crowded the streets are. Babies are crying, cars are honking, a homeless man is ranting, and I hear my heavy breathing. I am not use to this. I am uncomfortable. I am tired. Then, I come across a bridge. This bridge reminds me of my hometown. I close my eyes and picture my home. All of a sudden I am at peace. My feet stop hurting, and once again, I feel at home. Nine miles complete.

Uptown is my next stop. I get off the train and I don’t feel entirely comfortable. Many people are staring at me wondering what I am doing. At first, that bothers me, but then I get use to it and heart stops racing. I come across a family: a mom, dad, two sisters, and two brothers. Something about this family makes me smile. They are just having fun playing basketball, and riding their bikes. Behind them is a massive mural that is colorful and full of life. In the corner, I spot a beautiful owl that is watching over everyone. This scene makes me remember when I was little; I use to play with my siblings all the time. It brought me back to simpler times, and I felt warm inside. Four miles complete.

Then, I dive into Rogers Park. Right from the beginning I know that I will love Rogers Park. The whole town welcomes me with a wave of happiness. The houses are beautiful and has history deep within the walls. The beach, which is right down the street, is the perfect getaway. It has a view of the entire city, and allows me to listen to the wind and waves, as they work together to create a harmony. The best part of this town is the small grocery store, where everyone knows everyone. Going inside this store brings me back to a small store by my house, where I knew the owner since I was three years old. This store reminded me of home and put my heart at ease. Six miles complete.

My last stop is Beverly. This is the most shocking part of my journey. I come across an enormous house that is on a hill! Who knew Chicago had hills? I walk down street after street, exploring this hidden town. I am amazed at how beautiful this part of Chicago is. With the negative reputation that the South Side has, I never expected to see such an amazing neighborhood. This part of town is like the suburbs, which makes me relaxed. I feel safe here. I feel welcomed here. I feel different here. Eight miles complete.

Thirty-two miles later, I feel as though I matured as a Chicagoan. I went from seeing Chicago through a window, to exploring Chicago with my feet. By traveling by foot, I smelled Chicago, I touched Chicago, and I saw Chicago. Each place that I went to, had parts of it that reminded me of home. It made me feel like I was home, even though each town was different from the other. I judged Chicago before I got to experience it for myself. After my thirty-two miles around Chicago, I truly feel that I have an authentic experience of my city that I never knew, but do now.

--

--