A City of Strangers

Dania Odeh
walking chicago 2017
12 min readOct 25, 2017

When I think of the Chicago, I think of how many people occupy it. The people are what make up the city. Without people wandering the city, the streets would be meaningless. The best part about people in the city is the opportunity for those people to interact with each other. I never use to talk to anyone on the streets, because I was always in a rush. After the last couple of weeks, I have opened up and before I started my walks, I had the intention of talking to people and being more attentive. The purpose of this map is to inspire people to go out and talk to strangers. The mood of the map is very playful and fun. Talking to strangers made my Chicago experience a memorable one. Instead of putting my head down and getting to my destination, I decided to keep an open mind and open my eyes to the people and places around me. The more strangers I talked to the more memories I was making. Although talking to strangers may seem unimportant, you never know what you may discover or observe while talking to them. On the map I made, I decided to include major towns and areas instead of streets. I felt that the focus of my map should lean towards the people I met. So, I used miniature plastic people that are dressed like the strangers I met, and little flags with descriptions of those strangers. Also, around the areas I went to, I scattered sensory details I noticed while I was at that location. This way I can capture the exact memory I had of that place and people I met.

My map of Chicago!

Talking to strangers is a simple but delightful thing to do. It might seem silly to say hi or to compliment someone you don’t know, but you never know if that compliment made their day a lot better. Kio Stark discusses the value of talking to strangers in her Ted talk. She says, “When you talk to strangers, you’re making beautiful interruptions into the expected narrative of your daily life — and theirs,” (Stark, 2016). Talking to strangers can be a small and unexpected surprise for people, it is a nice little treat for both you and the stranger. Even if the conversation is as simple as discussing the Cubs game the night before. Every encounter with a stranger is valuable in some way.

In the modern time we live in, everyone is always on their phone. It is healthy to talk to real people and not just a screen. In the article, “We need human interaction,” by Rory Carroll, he discusses the importance of human interaction and how social media can be our downfall. He also explains the story of a man, Chuck McCarthy, who lives in L.A. and walks people for a living (Carroll, 2016). He says, “Grumbling about traffic, for instance, felt better when delivered to an actual human ear rather than posted on social media. ‘Tweeting about it and getting no response just makes you feel sadder,’” (Carroll). Carroll explains that having an actual conversation about an everyday issue can be more satisfying when done in person. McCarthy then explains that tweeting about your issue can actually result in you being sad waiting for someone to reply. When you look someone in the eye and share your concern, they can immediately sympathize and relate to you. This is something that every one should experience and practice.

Walking is a perfect way to interact and socialize with others. Leo Hollis explains this idea in his article, “Cities belong to us.” He explains an event dedicated to walking and talking to strangers. He says, “The purpose of the Midnight Run, it seemed to me, was about reconnecting with other people — as well as our civic selves and the often fleeting ties that make up everyday metropolitan life” (Hollis). Walking is a perfect way to escape the hustle and bustle of your everyday life. It is a good way to just relax and interact with other people that you have a lot in common with. Even if they don’t have something common with you, the interaction is still healthy, because you are learning about other people’s culture and tradition. The Midnight Run is when a group of people go out together to walk, do activities, and challenges. It is a perfect example of a nice relaxing walk so you can speak to people you don’t even know and have a good time. These small interactions are what make up Chicago. Everyone has a different idea of what Chicago is. Each person has their own experiences in their city. So, talking to strangers helps build up what Chicago is to you.

Stranger Number 1: September 12th 2:30 p.m.

The first stranger I encountered was the owner of a compact Greek restaurant. He was standing outside his shop wearing an apron. He was a short older man with grey hair. There was Greek music playing from his shop that was so welcoming. He noticed me staring inside the restaurant and he shouted, “Come in, come in!” I was compelled to go inside, and as soon as I did, I had a rush of different smells. I smelled fresh baked pita bread, gyros, grape leaves, and fresh garlic and onion. The place was warm and cozy. Me and this Greek man talked for at least thirty minutes about our different culture. I explained to him how similar his culture was to mine. I left that shop a lot happier than when I entered it. This stranger was unbelievably kind and brought a warm smile to my face.

The Greek Owner’s Restaurant

Stranger Number 2: September 12th 3:45 p.m.

When I was strolling by the Willis tower one day, I noticed a flock of birds hovering over a piece of bread in front of McDonald’s. I walk over to them and notice a homeless man all bundles up in blankets, sitting right next to the birds. He was so still and patient, waiting for something to happen. I decided to go inside McDonald’s and buy him a Whopper with fries and a drink. I take the food and handed it to him. He looked up at me like I was an angel and thanked me repeatedly. I smiled and said, “No problem.” He told me has been waiting in that spot for two weeks hoping someone would by him something, but no one ever did. That made me so sad to hear. This interaction was not as happy as the rest but it still made a memory and that man will never forget that one time this girl bought him some food.

The flock of birds that led me to the homeless man

Stranger Number 3: September 12th 4: p.m.

The next stranger I talked to, I happened to save his life, quite literally. I was walking home to my apartment, on Adams Street,when I saw a tall, young man wearing a yellow t-shirt and grey shorts. He was jogging right towards me, listening to music. I noticed a peeled banana peel on the floor. I immediately stuck my hand out to stop him from running. He bumped into me a little and pulled out his ear phones. Before he could get mad, I pointed to the ground and said be careful. He gave me the biggest smile, shook my hand, and thanked me. Although this interaction was short, it was beneficial. If it wasn’t for my observing skills, that man could have hurt himself.

Banana peel that almost killed a jogger

Stranger Number 4: September 19th 1:30 p.m.

The next stranger I met was when I visited Mary Bartelme. I was sitting on a toasty warm steel bench with blue and pink chalk writing and drawings on it. I sat quietly observing the people around me. I had three different dogs come lick my foot: a Beagle, a Shih Tzu, and a Yorkshire Terrier. After a half hour sitting and observing, a young woman in her mid 30s wearing a purple t-shirt and blue jeans, came and sat next to me. She smelled like fresh daisies, so to start my conversation, I turned to her and say, “I love your perfume.” She turns to me, smiles, and replies, “Thank you it’s Marc Jacobs.” She then pulls out the third Harry Potter book, Prisoner of Azkaban, which is my favorite Harry Potter book. We spent fifteen minutes talking about how amazing Harry Potter is. This small but simple conversation made my day and I felt so good talking to random people, who turned out to have a lot in common with me.

The bench me and the Harry Potter fan talked on

Stranger Number 5: September 28th 2:50 p.m.

On my way to Navy Pier, I was walking on the lake front trail, when all of a sudden I hear 21 Guns by Green Day, one of my favorite songs. I try looking for the source but I can’t. No one was around me just colorful trees and the burning sun. Then, I look up and I see a young blonde haired man wearing a green shirt that said “Green Day” on it and beige pants. He smiled, lowered the music and said hello. At first I was so shocked I couldn’t even respond, but instead of walking away I said, “Hey, why are you in a tree.” He laughed and said, “I like climbing trees.” I chuckled and told him to have fun, but then he asked for my number, and I told him I can’t give my number to strangers. He seemed disappointed, so I told him if I ever saw him again I would give him my number.

Stranger Number 6: October 2nd 3:00 p.m.

The next person I interacted with was when I was crossing the bridge across form the Trump Tower and I stopped to admire the Chicago River. It was such a beautiful day. The sun hit perfectly against my face. The wind was kind and blew gently across my cheeks. It was a perfect moment. Then, I feel a tap on my shoulder and there is was a tall, skinny British man with jet black hair standing behind me. He had three kids: one short brown haired boy who looked around five years old, and a set of twin girls around seven or eight years old with honey colored hair and blue eyes. He looked at me and asked, “Can you please take a picture of me and my family.” I smiled and said, “Of course I can.” He thanked me multiple times and explained how he asked three different people and they ignored him. I took the picture of the cute little British family and told him how beautiful his family was and how much I loved their accent. He laughed and said “I get that a lot. Thank you so much. You are very kind.” I say my goodbyes and wish them luck in the city. This was one of my favorite interactions because this man was so grateful for such a simple task. If only more people were open to talking to strangers.

Bridge where I took a picture of British man and his family

Stranger Number 7: October 22nd 4:00 p.m.

I met this stranger while walking around United Center. It was raining and the air smelled like fish. I was walking around looking for stranger to talk to. It was completely empty, mostly because it was pouring outside. A couple people wouldn’t stop to talk to me, but then I see this older man standing right in front of the United Center. He was wearing a pink checkered shirt with a brown sweater and jeans. I walk up to him, and noticed his daughter was with him. She gave me a concerned look as I approached, but after I told them my assignment, they smiled and were welcoming. I asked the old man if I could video tape our conversation and he said, “Of course!” We talked about Michael Jordan and how he was the best basketball player of all time. At fist there was a language barrier, but I quickly understood what he was saying. He was extremely kind and sweet. I shook his hand and was on my way.

Stranger Number 8: October 23rd 3:30 p.m.

The next stranger(s) I met were one of the nicest people I have ever met. I walked to Wicker Park with my sister and it was raining, again. The town seemed quiet and perfect to have a family in. There were many corner stores and small shops. There was a colorful playground with only two kids playing. We approached multiple people and they ignored us. I kept trying to talk to people but it wouldn’t work. Finally, we went back to the playground and saw two moms playing with their kids on the swings. One mom had Ombre hair with a black shirt and black jogging pants. The other mom had black hair with a long black coat on. I went up to them, explained that I was a student doing an assignment for school. I asked if I could video tape our conversation and they agreed. First I just asked how their day was going and we talked about the Cubs. Then, we brought up the show Stranger Things, and told them I had just started it and loved that show. Then I said, “Oh by the way my name is Dania.” One of the moms looked at me and said, “That’s such a pretty name.” I thanked her and said hi to both of their kids. Both were girls and one was in a fake car toy, the other was in her stroller. Both kids were too shy to say hi, but I was still happy so talk to them.

The park that I met the two moms

Stranger Number 9: October 23rd 4:20 p.m.

The last stranger I met was at the Field Museum. I sat on the stairs in front of the entrance and took a deep breath. The air was thick and wet from the rain, which had just stopped. I noticed a girl sitting next to me with red hair and two different colored eyes. She was so beautiful, so I could not help but say hello. She looked and me and shyly responded, “Hi.” I explained to her my assignment asked her if I could video tape our conversation, but she said she preferred just talking. So, I just asked her how she was and she replied, “I’m pretty good. I was just watching Stranger Things. Do you watch that show?” I laughed and replied “Yeah I just started watching it. It is a great show.” It was such a coincidence that two of my strangers watch Stranger Things.

The place I met the girl with red hair

That concluded my journey meeting strangers, but I will always be open minded and willing to take a few minutes and talk to someone random. These strangers I met will always be in my memory. Some were fun, some were sad, and some were just nice. All of these people are what I will think of when I think of Chiago. They make up the city. They make it special and unique. They make it a city of strangers.

Work Cited

Carroll, Rory. “‘We need human interaction’: meet the LA man who walks people for a living.” The Guardian, Guardian News and Media, 14 Sept. 2016, www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/sep/14/los-angeles-people-walker-chuck-mccarthy.

Hollis, Leo. “Cities thrive when public space is open to all — Leo Hollis | Aeon Essays.” Aeon, Aeon, 24 Oct. 2017, aeon.co/essays/cities-thrive-when-public-space-is-open-to-all.

Stark, Kio. Kio Stark: Why you should talk to strangers | TED Talk, www.ted.com/talks/kio_stark_why_you_should_talk_to_strangers/details?language=en.

--

--