A Taste of Lincoln Park

Jackson Carroll
walking chicago 2017
3 min readOct 17, 2017

Before moving to Chicago, I knew that the city had a great food scene. I would hear about their restaurants on T.V and would drool over their food pages on Instagram. Now that I am living in Chicago, I’ve already got to try a few good places. For my atlas, I have decided to create a map of some of my favorite places to eat, particularly in Lincoln Park, since I will be living in this area for the next four years. I enjoy eating tasty foods while having an authentic atmosphere to better the experience. The food places that I will map in Lincoln Park will also be personally rated based on food quality and taste, the atmosphere, and service. Chicago’s wide variety of eateries are a big part of the city, making it one of the world’s culinary epicenters.

A couple of restaurants that I have been to: Jam ‘n Honey and Homeslice
Most of the places that I’ve eaten at in Lincoln Park

In response to Malchik, is walking a luxury, a privilege, a necessity, or a right, and why? What are the threats to walking? How does where you live influence how you live?

In response to Malachik’s, The End of Walking, walking is shown as many things. It can be seen as a luxury where there aren’t as many people participating in the activity. Everyone today seems to be getting from point A to point B by driving or other means of transportation. Walking, in a way, has become a lost art that people don’t pay attention to anymore. According to Malachik, walking can also be seen as a privilege. People need to understand that walking is one of the most simplest and enlightening ways of transportation. It’s easy for us and if we have legs, we might as well use them. We, as a society, can fall into a detrimental state if we don’t walk. It’s also a necessity. Some places are more accessible by walking and more opportunities can be gained. And lastly, walking can also be a right. We have the freedom to walk and create our own path. If you let your curiosity guide you and use your right to walk, it can be very fulfilling. Overall, walking can be many things and its how you interpret it that defines you. Personally, living in Chicago, walking is one of the best ways for me to get around. I have discovered so much. Walking has opened my eyes in the city, making it an even better place to live.

--

--