Final Project Proposal

Amy Do
walking chicago 2017
8 min readOct 17, 2017

My final project is going to be on various bookstores around Chicago, primarily the Loop.

Books and reading have always been important to me, and knowing where the nearest bookstore is gives me a sense of security. It’s comforting to know that my copy of Harry Potter at home has the same words in it as one in the storefront down the street. With my map, I aim to tell the stories of small businesses versus chain bookstores in the Loop. I’m only going to visit the independently owned ones- once you go into one Barnes and Noble, you’ve basically seen them all anyways.

Before class, I headed over to Curbside Books and Records (off the walking record because it was still kind of early and I didnt’ feel like taking notes. Fun fact: It’s tiny, and inside of the Revival Food Hall:

The real show started later- I had a couple of hours to spare between when my class ended and my course cart opened, so I decided to go on an LOOP BOOKSTORE BASH where I chain-walked to all of the bookstores I could in the time I had.

1:19- The sun is really bright in my eyes.

1:22- Crossed at Congress. Much better.

1:23- I’ve never seen the University Center up close. Sirens are much louder here because it echoes off of all the buildings.

1:25- Dearborn & Plymouth. These building lounges are so cool! They’re sticking out the side of the building like dinosaur spines.

1:26- “I agree with Grant. That’s amazing”. What’s amazing? I typed that while dodging a stroller full of groceries.

1:28- Those guys all went into SRO Chicago. The storefront is open and full of typical diner-looking dark brown wood furniture. There’s a checkerboard tiled floor, and red walls covered in pictures, articles, and posters. There’s a neon sign that says “CHICAGO’s ORIGINAL TURKEY BURGER”. Maybe I’ll come back one day. I like turkey burgers.

1:33- This place appeared out of nowhere. Creaky wooden floor lets you know where everybody else is, and if nobody is in your line of sight, it sounds like you have a bunch of benevolent poltergeists sneaking around behind you, pulling pranks that are simultaneously annoying and endearing.

There’s classical music playing. It’s warm in here.

It reminds me of Elliot Bay Bookstore back home on Capitol Hill. Maybe it’s the sassy-looking middle aged woman manning the cash register.

1:36- This area very quickly turned from cute to industrial. the wind is strong, and colder.

1:38- State St. How inhospitable.

I was here a couple weeks ago and this corner had “Starry Night” chalk art. It’s all faded now- must be the rain.

1:40- There’s a truck over there titled “FREEMAN”. My old teacher’s name was Mr. Freeman. I wonder how he’s doing.

1:44-

“Hi, I’m looking for the Wiley L Bookstore?”

“Yeah! That’s gonna be just around the block on Wabash.”

“Okay, thank you.”

She had a strange accent that sounded like she had marbles in the back of her throat. I guess I can’t say anything- my cold makes me sound like I’m underwater.

1:50- This place is not what I expected. I turn around and leave immediately.

1:53- I didn’t know DePaul had a theater so close to the lake! Prime location.

1:54- I feel like an impostor in the Columbia College Bookstore.

1:55- As soon as I walk out, a large group of students drip out of the Columbia College revolving doors. I feel like even more of a poser.

These awnings are so repetitive. My eyes are bored.

2:00- My first instinct is that I’ve come to the wrong building. It’s HOT in here.

2:01- I’ve never been in an elevator with an operator.

2:11-

“Hello! Can I help you find anything?”

“I’m just browsing for now, thank you.”

“Any instruments you’re playing?”

“I actually am not a musician, I just saw your poster downstairs and thought it was interesting. The elevator ride alone was worth the trip up, but this place is incredible!”

“Thanks. Are you a college kid?”

“Yes- I go to DePaul.”

“Oh, so you’re not too far. What major?”

“I’m Communications and Technology, so really nothing that needs me to have sheet music.”

“Well, that anything can have anything to do with anything. I was an english major. I realized that there wasn’t a good music store around here, but I’ve been here ever since. Here- we sell it, but you can take a look at this book. Have you ever been in the Fine Arts Building?”

“Nope.”

“You see, this building used to be a Carriage factory. So that door you came in downstairs was where they would put the horses and you’d come out to Michigan Avenue that way.”

“Wow. That’s fascinating.”

“Yeah, have you checked out the 10th floor? No? Oh, you just took the elevator up to nine, did ya. Yeah, there’s a couple of murals up there. It’s a neat place, everything’s stayed basically the same except for the furniture.”

2:13- Now I’m back at the Loop. Man, I’m hungry. Guess it’s time for lunch.

  • In response to Malchik, is walking a luxury, a privilege, a necessity, or a right, and why? What are the threats to walking? How does where you live influence how you live?

Malchik says,

“For decades, americans have been losing their ability, even their right, to walk.” So I would conclude that Malchik thinks walking is a right. However, as I student, I would say that walking is a necessity. It really depends on your perspective, because from the view of somebody who is disabled, walking would be a luxury. And as a woman, I oftentimes view it as a privilege.

The threats to walking that Malchik cites are the increased use of automobiles, car-centric city planning, and the american ideals of “personal property and individual liberty”. Although they started out as a convenience, the growth of suburbia and dependence on road systems quickly made owning a car a necessity in many cities. Walkability was kicked to the curb in favor of neat cul-de-sacs and industrial three-lane grids. Furthermore, a car is basically a tiny room you can personalize and move around, which caters to the American idea that your own space is the best space.

Where you live influences how you live because there are walkable pockets that still exist. Some urban areas maintain their walkability, and public transport access is a luxury available to a few major cities in the U.S. However, as cited in the article, there are places in the states where a woman walking alone is seen as a threat, or someone clearly in distress, and if you want to get around without being questioned you need to buy a bike. Another situation is that of the suburb, where you need to have a car in order to go grocery shopping, go to school, or do anything entertaining at all. Many smaller cities in the U.S. are so spread out that owning an automobile is an absolute necessity. Location influences walkability, which in turn influences your lifestyle.

The most compelling quote from the article came at the end, when Malchik wrote:

“And so we design towns… unfriendly to the walker… even though the personal loss of walking ability is so terrifying that ‘Will I ever walk again?’ is a reliable trope of television’s medical dramas.”

--

--

Amy Do
walking chicago 2017

part time writer, full time friend. @helloamydo everywhere!