How Walking The Chicago Streets Fuels My Imagination

Allegra Acosta
walking chicago 2017
2 min readSep 20, 2017

Reflection: Interestingly enough, a walk through Chicago’s streets leave me with a diverse range of emotions. Being new to the city, from Texas, it produces my imagination to grow wildly. I picture myself strolling the streets, weeks from now, months from now… years from now? It allows me to picture versions of myself engaging in activities near and far from the DePaul campus, with the intent of a driven student. Walking through these Chicago streets allows me to see an Allegra that has grown into a young woman with a new skill set, a new power to set out and accomplish all the things that the younger, growing Allegra set out to do when first applying for college. A walk through Chicago allows me to feel safe. Although controversial, I feel that my walking through the streets later in the night with less people roaming them makes me feel safer. Although many people would look at me and think I am crazy for saying that, it enables me to learn my city better and more efficiently, so I feel more comfortable with navigating around different areas with more confidence in where things are.

Field Notes:

--

--