Elias Alkhouri
walking chicago 2017
3 min readSep 6, 2017

--

Immersion week in Chicago showed me a wide view of the city. The class took me places I’d never been in Chicago. The walking gave me great looks into parts of Chicago I’d never seen before.

Lincoln Park was a very unfamiliar place before the immersion week started. After the walks through Lincoln Park I began to familiarize myself with the kind of place I am now living in. While walking I began to see neighborhoods with very expensive houses that vary  from a classical look to a modern style. There are many streets that have these town homes but also in Lincoln Park one can find a industrial area that differs from the nearby homes. This showed me how neighborhoods can vary greatly even in smaller areas.

The John Hancock Tower view gave me a view of Chicago that I never had before. I got to see how the city is structured and admire the buildings. Coming from a suburban area with a small population, seeing nearly the whole city gave me a great perspective of the place I am to call home for these next few years.

Uptown showed me another unfamiliar place in Chicago. I saw theaters such as the Riviera that displayed a part of Chicago’s culture. There was also very interesting architecture varying from a more classical design to a modern one. Another part of Chicago culture was also found in Uptown, there are murals and mosaics that cover walls in much of Chicago. Each mural tells a different story and can often be a reflection of the neighborhood it is in. Uptown is also occupied by many different races and ethnicities. Every culture brings something to the neighborhood it lives in, this can be reflected in artwork, various stores and restaurants, and religious buildings.

Walking through Beverley showed me a side of Chicago I was not accustomed to. When people think of Chicago prairie houses and quiet streets do not come to mind. However walking through Beverley showed me again how neighborhoods in Chicago can be extremely different from each other. Also each house is unique as compared to the suburbs where most houses are very similar. While walking through the various neighborhoods in Chicago I’ve been able to take in so much more information than I have in any other place.

Chicago has already shown me so much and I haven’t even been here 2 weeks. From exploring Lincoln Park, Uptown, the Hancock tower, and Beverley; I have learned so much and am eager to learn more about this city. Looking back on this week I can say Chicago is the most diverse and interesting city I’ve been to this far. I appreciate what “Walking Chicago” has done for me as far as exposing me to interesting parts of the city.

--

--