Network or Net Worth?

Ben Richards
walking chicago 2017
7 min readSep 29, 2017

4:33

I see a woman walking toward me with a white floral shirt and a black coat. Her eyes are so wide that they look like they’re about to pop out of her face. She is nervous, probably late for something. There are a lot of homeless men here on Harry A. Belluomino Way. I see a lot of business men in suits. It smells like fresh donuts.

4:35

I am on W Jackson Blvd., I see the tall red sculpture that is always in pictures hung up on walls of office spaces in Chicago. I saw one in the Loop Campus admissions office today. This sculpture serves as the centerpiece of the buildings surrounding it. There are many asian men with backpacks on stabding nearby. Either they are toursits or businessmen meeting up. There are real taxis constantly pulling to the side of the road and picking people up. Real, as in, not Ubers. I stop and stand now. I am the only person standing, everyone else is walking fast with somewhere to be. I see a man on a boosted board flying down Jackson. I don’t see those often, but I think they are a very cool piece of technology.

People passing by the Flamingo Sculpture
The Citadel Entrance

4:45

I have made my way north and am standing in front of a building labeled “Citadel”. I’m not sure what this building is, but I see a headless gold statue of an angel through the window. It is very high security and I actually feel wierd standing here. There is a big black guy in a suit standing in front of the revolving door. He’s handing strange looking cards to the people as they walk in. There is another large wooden door that they walk into once they are inside. It is uncomfortably quiet. The air smells fresh.

4:50

I am now on S Monroe St. I turned on to this street because I was intrigued by the Hamilton sign and flashing lights on the CIBC Theatre. I am standing across the street from the Hampton Inn Majestic Building. It looks like a very nice hotel, particularily apealing to Business Professionals. It is much louder here. A lot of people are talking on their phones. There is a faint sound of jazz music playing. I believe it is coming from the Chop House. They have an outdoor patio.

4:58

I am witnessing a homeless man doing high kicks on one leg and he’s wearing a blue striped hoodie, adidas sweatpants and red/white jordan 3’s. I’m actually not sure if he’s homeless or not but he is one strange looking dude with a thick beard. I hear him grunting as he kicks the air.

5:10

I am walking down Jewler’s row. It amazes me how many jewlery stores there are so close together. So many people are walking into these stores that are so obviously trying to appear wealthy. Annoying. They talk so loudly and try to show off. It smells like old lady perfume and I hear people talking obnoxiously loud.

5:22

I am standing by a parking kiosk watching 3 guys directing a large van into a parking spot. My phone is capturing the time laps of them doing so.

5:30

I have been standing here for about 8 minutes. A man noticed me and approached me to ask what I was doing. He said

“I gotta ask, I saw you put your phone on the ground and I’m wondering what you’re doing”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pVPvojrXxJo

I explain the whole Discover Chicago concept and that I am a student at DePaul. I talk to this man for about 10 minutes while I shoot a time-lapse. This man told me he is a professor from IU-Kokomo named Mark. He said he had heard of this DePaul Discover Chicago class at a conference. He said he thinks I am going to be successful and he wishes me the best of luck. It was great to meet him. I am walking toward trump tower now

5:34

I am now apporoaching Trump Tower. I hear the sound of the L passing over above me. I just passed a man getting his shoes shined by another man in the street. Again, unnecessary, but it’s all about the appearance.

5:46

My iPhone is at 1% battery. I sit down on a cement bench in front of Trump Tower to type out more observations on my laptop. I am on the corner of Wacker a& Wabash. I hear a honking horn at least 8 times every minute I sit here. People walking by are dressed very nice. The way the sun is set in the sky at this very moment causes light to bounce off all the building in strange ways. In particular, Trump Tower looks like a mirror, and all the buildings around it are reflected in the windows.

5:52

Everyone is wearing sunglasses. I wish I brought a pair because the sun is very bright right now. The noise level gets very quiet when the cars are all stopped at the light. When the light turns green, it gets very loud again.

5:55

A man in a purple shirt with black business pants and a backpack just sprinted across the street and nearly got hit by a car.

5:57

A black man with a bulls hat, black t shirt and sagging jeans just sat next me to me and said

“Hey man, I see you’re busy I don’t mean to be rude, but i’m part of the chicago drum, we those guys ya see playing the big drums all in a line, and we seeking donations to end violence…”

He shows me a flyer that looks super fake.

I cut him off and said

“I’m sorry sir, I don’t have any cash on me right now”

He knew I was lying and asked

“are you sure?”

I said:

“yeah i’m sorry”

he shook his head and said

“okay have a good one”

he got up and walked away.

then as a black Rolls Royce Phantom passes in front of him, he put up his hand, waved at them and yelled

“yooo”

I notice he was definitely full of shit.

5:58

A Rolls Royce drives in front of me. Two very sophisticated men in either front seat cruise slowly down the road. Obviously seeking attention, they have their windows rolled down and loud music playing.

6:03

A man in a purple shirt with black business pants and a backpack just sprinted across the street and nearly got hit by a car.

6:09

A woman with a ratty blue cardigan on approaches me and said excuse me says

“Excuse me sir, can you help us get a hamburger or something to eat?”

she had a little boy around the age of 9 and a little girl around the age of 4 or 5 next to her. They had backpacks on and appeared to have just gotten out of school. They looked scared.

I said

“I’m sorry I don’t have any cash on me”

She said

“Okay no problem” and walked away with her kids.

She was much nicer about it than the man that was here earlier.

6:15

I am walking toward the nearest L stop now. Noise level has increased significantly. A lot of people are getting out of work and trying to go home. My phone is nearing the end, but that is okay. Everyone is dressed in business attire. I would say at least 80% of people in my sight right now are wearing suits. I can’t describe the smell in the air, but I like it. There are many nice cars rolling by on this street. There are sirens in the distance. I hear them getting louder. Horns are still honking and everybody is on the move.

6:22

I am concluding my walk. I am about to get on the L and head back to Lincoln park. I only have to find it now because my phone is dead. I am looking forward to seeing my route on the app I used on my phone once I charge it.

I used the app MapMyRun by underarmour to track my route and distance today. It also recorded my time and pace.

--

--