Sounds of School Kids and Soccer Balls

Ben Richards
walking chicago 2017
2 min readSep 20, 2017
Trebes Park, Chicago
  • Does a walk through Chicago’s street soothe you, induce stress, or produce some other emotional response? Why? Are there certain kinds of streets or places in the city that produce these emotional responses? Where, when, how, and why?

Walking around Chicago has become a weekly routine for me since I arrived here. I can honestly say it is a great way for me to escape from the real world for a little while and relax while still staying active. The walks I have taken so far have always calmed me down and eliminated my stress. I find that it’s the perfect way to collect my thoughts and think about the things I tend to push off or procrastinate. My mental notes and to-do lists are much more organized after I am done with a Chicago walk.

I also love to continue reflecting on my new home. When I walk, I am reminded of the opportunities and unique surrounds I have here. It is mainly the busy urban areas that trigger these emotions for me. For example, when I was in millennium park the other day, I really thought on the idea that I can go there whenever I want. I am still looking for my go-to spot to relax, but Millennium park could definitely be an option. Most people in millennium park are only there on vacation or are visiting. I constantly embrace the city and keep in mind that it is a dream come true to live here, and I only get this feeling when I walk.

--

--