The Footprints We Leave.

Elias Alkhouri
walking chicago 2017
6 min readOct 25, 2017

Since the dawn of civilizations humankind has left its mark where ever it established itself. Our most prominent marks on Earth are our major cities. Our cities are simply reflections of the people that live there and in my walk I attempted to recognize how each person contributes to the aura of the city, consciously or unconsciously. In order to absorb the “footprints” everyone leaves I took my walk after sundown when the city was fairly calm. During my walk I noticed a multitude of ways individuals and communities have contributed to the city of Chicago.

I begin my walk at the corner of Belden and Southport at 9:51 pm. It is a cold night, cold enough I can see my breathe in front of me. With the cold air there is a breeze that bites at my nose. The ground is soaked with rain and puddles hug the curbs and fills the potholes. Across me there is a Catholic church called St. Joseph’s. Although it may simply be a church like any other it is important to understanding an element of the community. Just from its existence one can know there must be a Catholic population the the surrounding neighborhoods to sustain a church. After contemplating about the church I begin to head North on Southport.

The first thing I notice during my walk is how empty the street is, besides the occasional passing car I find myself alone. It is difficult to find the human impact of a empty street, however, if one simply changes focus to the houses and buildings that line the streets it is easy to see the human mark. What is remarkable about many houses in this city is the character each one has, it is rare to see identical houses lining block after block in this city. Each resident lives in piece of art that rests in the gallery known as Chicago.

Eventually I reached the intersection of Southport and Fullerton. I continue North. As I distance myself from Fullerton I began to focus on how quiet it was. Despite my immediate vicinity being very quiet I noticed the humming of distant traffic. One of the most universal marks we leave as a species is noise and in cities it is impossible to escape it no matter how quiet it seems to be. As I move forward a building catches my eye. The building consists of four levels. The first floor is a salon and spa known as “Tint” but the next three each appear to be residential. This building is in essence the manifestation of a figurative “footprint”, it incorporates the most significant marks we make on society: ones work and ones community.

At 10:02 I reach Southport and Lill. The Monkey Paw is the only source of light in the area, inside a handful of people gather around the bar. I move on.

Three minutes later I arrive at Southport and Wrightwood. I stop at the intersection and take time to reflect on my surroundings. I take notice of the business across the street from me. Again I find myself looking at a salon. This gives me more insight into understanding the area I am in. I proceed to walk.

Being October it is hard to imagine a walk without the most clear mark we leave: decorations. Cobwebs and orange lights cover fences whilst pumpkins sit upon porches all displaying different emotions. Our holiday decorations are our deliberate attempt at creating an atmosphere and while walking it is very difficult to not receive the holiday vibe.

While walking down Southport towards Diversey I again notice how although it feels quiet and calm I am still part of a busy city that never sleeps. When looking forward I notice that it is a lonely street but it leads to a light that beacons me to it, I proceed.

The light I noticed minutes before is truly a BP gas station. It sits on the corner of Southport and Diversey. I begin East on Diversey. While I head East I step over large puddles and continue to notice the architecture however nothing grabs my attention.

At 10:29 I reach the intersection of Lincoln, Southport, and Racine. It is by far the busiest intersection I have encountered during my walk despite the time. I can hear engines sputtering and brakes screeching on the wet asphalt. I stand at the intersection taking in my surroundings. I can hear a group babble about something outside a bar across the intersection. After I have absorbed enough I begin to move down Racine.

While moving down Racine I begin to think about the houses around me again. I notice one specifically, it is clearly an attempt at a castle. Gargoyles rest atop the top of this phony fortress. The person who owns this home has left their mark in the community by changing the format of their house into something more unique. I continue past the house.

At 10:45 I reach a children’s park. The sign on the fence says “Supera Park”. The park is silent and empty. This park in itself is a mark we leave behind. Although no one plays in the park at this late hour I know just by its existence a little more about the area. The playground and swing set let me know that this community has a population of young children. The mark of the children is their play set.

Shortly after passing the park I come across a pole that is covered in scars, scratches, and whatever else we leave on street poles. The most noteworthy mark is a sticker that says “Bummer”, in Chicago stickers such as this one are a common sight. A strong look at any street in this city and one will find at least one form of street art that residents scatter throughout the city. This form expression is fascinating in how personal it is yet anyone passing by can appreciate the effort in marking the city. I may never personally know the people who design the crazy houses, plan out parks, and leave artwork in this city but I will still be able to appreciate what they’ve contributed to their communities.

--

--