The Vibe of the City

Ashley Brouillard
walking chicago 2017
2 min readOct 18, 2017

Malchik claims walking is a necessity. He goes over the various health benefits of walking (helping avoid obesity, depression, and cancer) as well as the human nature of walking. We are the most primitive when we are very young and the boy’s wandering into the street shows the human need for wanderlust. If we do not have spaces to walk, our lives are constricted, as one can only wander so much in the confines of a car. Malchik notes cars are a threat to walking, but safety is also a threat to walking. Just leaving a building in a dangerous neighborhood can put one at risk for being shot, killed, or mugged. This influences how you live. If you live in a bad, closed off neighborhood, you are less likely to be outside and are thus likely to be more introverted and afraid of the world. If you live in a safe, open neighborhood, you are more likely to be outside and friendly with your neighbors. You are more likely to walk around an be more active in your community.

I propose that I will walk the city in order to find the auora and vibe pf the city. Since I was young I believed ever person and place has a vibe and I often associate that vibe with a color. This is the plan for my map; I will go to different parts of the city, read the vibe, and assign it a characteristic and color. In this map, I would like to try to be as unbiased as possible when accessing the vibe, only giving my interpretations of the area, not other’s. Though it is important to note that this vibe is read by me and no one else, therefore is not concrete. Using my knowledge from immersion week, I plan to revisit and add to the places we visited and re-access the vibe alone, taking note of the people and interactions I have there.

vibe -blue vibe- yellow
I’m making my actual map on a poster

--

--