The Young Man and the City

JD
walking chicago 2017
3 min readSep 6, 2017

Stepping into the Poster

Let me tell you the something odd. Entering the elevator at the John Hancock Center, I was oblivious to the fact that 94 floors and 39 seconds later, I would be staring at the very same skyline I had seen every day on my wall. I gaze upon a city so familiar, yet so new. Details left to my imagination for so many years were revealed through the 360 view of the Chicago. Never had I felt immersed into the life of hundreds of people without actual contact. Looking North, I was in one of the ant sized cars driving to a baseball game in Wrigleyville. Averting my attention East, I was one of the beach bums engaged in a rigorous game of volleyball. Making my way to the Southern view, I had advanced 4 years in my life and was entering a firm, anxious to begin my career downtown. Finally, I made my way to the West wing where I could see distant suburbs and the “L” making it’s rounds.

The Trek

I would be lying if I said walking Chicago was an easy task. I would also be lying if I said walking Chicago wasn’t the most effective way to understand the city from it’s roots. Entering the trek, I would compare myself to a bull. Yes, the animal. I would trudge along with my head down, not with disdain, just by habbit. Traveling through the city/suburbs I found it was much more beneficial to be the owl. Keeping my head on a swivel at all times and taking time to listen to noises beyond the hustle and bustle. The culture of each individual street exploded in color. Walking became less of a task, a physical chore, and more of an necessity for exploration.

Transition & Similarities

The style. The people. The building. The weather. The smells. The sounds. West Coast to East Coast. California to Illinois. Sacramento to Chicago. I always pondered how much change can occur over 2,045 miles. The best way I can explain it is that so much changed in such a little way. I am working to acclimate myself to the lingo while adding my own twist. I can confirm that the most accommodating feature of Chicago is that people are more willing to stop and answer questions instead of always having somewhere to go. The weather in Chicago is more bipolar than Kanye West, which will take some getting used to. Another confusing aspect of the city is the delusion of having such a large body of water, without the salty ocean smell. All in all, Chicago’s best feature is giving newcomers the ability to adapt.

Interpretation

“It’s good to know how to read, but it’s dangerous to know how to read and not how to interpret what you’re reading” — Mike Tyson. Before embarking on my journey through Chicago, I had my own preconceived notion of different lifestyles and locations. Discovering hidden art forms throughout the city, examining them, then hearing the meaning behind them was essential in understanding the unique culture in every community. There were diamonds in the rough throughout my expedition, hidden from the distracted passerby, but waiting for the ones who were adventurous.

--

--

JD
walking chicago 2017

Love reading, trying to love writing (Power Level: 50)