Wet Paint (Chips)

Ben Richards
walking chicago 2017
5 min readOct 11, 2017

5:11

I am walking out ACE hardware store on S State St. I have red and green paint chips in my hand. I am walking north toward the DePaul Loop campus. It smells like straight up garbage in the air. I am just outside Athletico physical therapy building and the rain just began downpouring. I am looking for a dry place but there is nothing around me.

5:16

I have found, and am now standing under underneith shelter for a moment. I found a blue telephone booth shaped structure in a parking lot that protects the parking ticket kiosk. I notice a staircase on a building that looks to be a very similar shade to the green in my pocket. The building is a hotel with a sign on the opposite side of it. It might say “Horizon”, but i cant tell for sure. I don’t have the best angle.

5:20

I have moved locations to find more colors. I am now underneith the L track. I believe it’s the Brown Line. I notice a “Green City Project” bin for clothing donations. It is also a similar green to my chip. It has faded in some places, so it actually fits the multiple shades on my card.

5:26

There is also a collection of “Red Bull Sound Select” posters taped up on the colums holding up the brown line track. The abstract colors attracted my attention. There are a variety of them positioned in a large square. There is one promoting “Jungle”, “Nombe” and “Drama Duo”. The design is a scheme of orange, yellow and red floral type design. The red matches my other paint chip. People are walking by wondering why I am taking these pictures. I am staying dry under these tracks for now.

5:30

Okay, time to suck it up. I continue walking and I am getting absolutely drenched. I am a bit worried because my laptop is in my backpack, but it should stay dry enough. I am seeing so many green plants but none of them match the shade of green I have.

It smells like chicken. More soecifically, it smells like KFC or popeyes. The only other time I’ve smelt this aroma as strong as it is right now is in an airport.

5:44

I have found a double wammy. Red stop sign with a green pole. It perfectly matches both of my color schemes on my chips. They are also conveniently placed under a roof so I can get a few minutes of dry time.

5:48

I don’t know how everybody around me was so prepared. Everybody has a rain coat or an umbrella. I would kill for either of those things right now. Around me I hear their foot steps in puddles, and the sliding of their rain jacket material as they walk. The rain creates a nice background noise for me as I walk. The cars driving become much louder now because they are constantly plowing through water. It is a suprisingly strong and steady downpour right now.

5:55

I have walked north a few blocks now. I look back at the hotel I was looking at earlier. I can now read that the sign may say “Morisson” not “Horizon”. I want to look into this building later because it looks very old, and like it has a lot of character. I can also now see these green boxes shaped structures along the bottom 1/3 of the building. The green, like the stairs, matches my paint chip. I can’t tell what exactly they are, however. The air smells very musty now. I can also smell a fresh laundry scent from my clothes as they are now soaking wet.

6:01

As I walk around the block I am trying to stay near state street so I can get back on the L at some point. I have taken a short cut through a parking garage. I realize that it is connected to a place called University Center. I believe some DePaul students live here. I have found a nice plant outside and emergency exit that matches my red paint chip.

6:05

Today is going to be a shorter walk. I am soaking wet. The rain is not slowing down anytime soon. I have found a Red Line stop. As i am walking down the stairs, a homeless man stops me and says “excuse me, man. Could you please help me out? I’ve lost my credit card.” I say “sorry i am in a big hurry” and i walk away. I think to myself right now, why would he say he lost his credit card? If that story was true that would be his own damn fault. Why would I help him? I actually really want to help people that ask but It’s so hard to trust it will go to an actual good cause

6:09

End of walk. I am on the L. It is very steamy in here. There is a really strong gross smell. The train conducter announces that the cubs game is cancelled, and the Addison stop is backed up.

What is a map? How do Krygier & Wood define a map? How is a map related to the world it depicts? Why do we make maps?

There is a lot of freedom in maps. Maps can display an overview of the past, present or future layout. A map is not a representation, however. Maps are propositions, as there are options as to what will or won’t be included when making a map. A map does not have to be an exact representation of what exists in the real world. According to Krygier & Wood, a map is defined as a proposition created by someone to display a location of a certain place. There is no reason that any person must follow a map by its exact layout, because the map itself was created by another person. No person can create an exact representation, and more importantly, that representation will never stay the same. The reason we make maps is to educate people on an area by means of current layout, history, or what it will be in the future.

NOTE: I could not use my notebook on this walk because of the pouring rain and used me phone instead. I was unable to do sketches or maps when I was walking.

--

--