A Guide to Chicago

Acasey
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
4 min readOct 18, 2021

October 16th, 2021

Despite the stress that comes with being in school, being a student in the city of Chicago comes with a lot of perks that can make up for it. We are told constantly that “the city is our campus”, and on a Saturday afternoon with nothing else to do, I decided to take advantage of that and go see the art museum in Millennium Park for the first time. Also, keeping in mind the assignment for this week, I wanted to see the park, the museum, and the bustling loop energy through the eyes of a local. As someone who is in what I would the “transitional phase” of becoming a local, I do not think that people realize how unusual it is to be usual in a big, urban city. Walking around Lincoln Park or Rodgers Park is one thing but exploring the city in its downtown realness is another. When picking where I wanted to live for the school year, I was told that living in Lincoln Park makes for an easier transition into urban living, and after being here for a few months I whole- heartly agree. Every time I do go downtown, or somewhere off campus, I still find it hard to believe that this can be some peoples day to day experience. Growing up, whenever we went on vacations, we would tend to go to bigger, urban city settings and it still feels like I am a young child on vacation. I hope that feeling never wears off. Part of what makes the downtown experience so much fun is the noticing of small little things that may or may not be there the next day. For instance, the sponge I found on Monroe or the tiny drawing of a cat I found on a park bench, or a beautiful orchid some one left in a trash can.

For my final project, I am considering doing a guide to how to fit into Chicago like a local, or a walking tour guide of the city that points out things that I have found since moving here, like a favorite coffee spot or the sponge on Monroe.

I would compare being a citizen to being a resident, it means that you live in a certain place and have the right to public places and other facilities that come with the city. It is important for people to think of themselves as citizens in an area because that means they can experience the surroundings they are in. A citizen or resident of a city is more comfortable with the city than a tourist would be, and in that way, they get to enjoy it more. Walking has helped me feel more like a citizen of Chicago because I got to experience the city in a more personal way, instead of driving in a car for example. It has also helped me gain an understanding of where things are.

Krygier and Wood describe a map as a proposition. They describe maps as this because it is not possible to make a map that is an exact representation of copy of the real world. It is a proposition because they entice people to come and see if the map is really true or somewhat accurate. Before moving here, I had always heard about the reputation the South side had, but I also heard that the whole city is dangerous in general. I also knew that the city was severely segregated into the north and south sides, and the city even gained some negative attention when a map of Whole Food’s store locations came to light and people noticed that almost all of them were located on the North side. People called Whole Foods on denying people of lower income the access to healthier foods and called Chicago on allowing this segregation continue on. However, I never knew that the West side had a similar reputation as the South. Seeing the pictures of the Folded Map project, I was not surprised to see the differences in the houses on the South and North. People make maps to be able to get and give directions, but they can also be political depending on what you include on the map and what you leave out. Just as we saw on the Folded Map project, the differences in housing structures and public amenities can make a political statement. All of this still relates to the question “who can walk?” If, for example, you in a neighborhood that is dangerous, you may not have the urge to walk or would not feel comfortable doing so (283).

--

--