A Place I Could Call Home

Vlada Waters
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
2 min readOct 15, 2021

Krygier & Wood define a map to be complex. It is more than an image or portrayal. It is a proposition, “it affirms the existence and location of its subjects” (Krygier). In other words, the real parts of a location are defined, but also our own ideas can be put onto our maps. There are so many possibilities to put on a map and every individual can have their own that is filled with markers they associate a place with. After hearing about and viewing maps in the folded map project, my understanding of Chicago changes. There is a concept of re-folding the map and you find your “map buddies” in Jon Hansen’s discussion where you see a difference when looking at the North side as opposed to the west, east, or south side even through different parts of the same streets. There is conversation between folks and finding a connection with them where you learn about their lives, and build a community. We make maps to get an understanding of the area but to also learn about each other. It helps us get a better sense of direction even if we aren’t looking at a map because we can differentiate the place with more than just its street location (209).

During my walk this week, I was able to establish an area I want to focus my final project on. It’s a street I rarely walk on, but I know it is busy and has a lot to be discovered. I found that in one area, there are cute shops, cafes, and restaurants. It’s also a community with residential homes where families walk around in the afternoon and conversate between each other. I was able to recognize a difference between this community in Lincoln Park as opposed to my previous walk in Gold Coast and The Loop. Referring back to last week’s agenda, I noticed that these people are greater citizens than the ones walking in Michigan Avenue. The residents are more aware of their surroundings, there’s less construction work, and there’s a bigger feeling of community. It took me back to a feeling I got back in my hometown where friends and family got together to spend time outside and enjoy each other’s company; there’s more interaction face-to-face than through technology. This walk has encouraged me to think about the place I want to live in. Do I enjoy the busy streets of Chicago with young diverse citizens? Or do I want to stay in a place that feels safer with families surrounding me, feeling more like I’m back at home? There’s definitely advantages and disadvantages in both areas, so the theme of the project is a very significant portion to the impact a community has on the city and myself (252).

--

--