Clark Street, A forgotten tradition

Clark St, a forgotten tradition. Now, what tradition am I talking about? Answer: A sense of home and community within our city and streets. The importance of this cannot be understated, we need people to have pride and fond memories of their homes. Now, what constitutes a “sense of home and community” First shops, restaurants, and bars. Streets need to be fluid, meaning the city does not stop at the sidewalk, you can walk into any building and have a unique experience. You might find a high-end restaurant or a hole-in-the-wall burger joint, each one tells their own story about the city. You might also find stores that sell art or music, record stores, fine art shops or just a place to buy posters.

This used to be a tradition for every city, somewhere along the way we lost this tradition, Rural cities especially. When many people in this country think of home they imagine the McDonald’s and the gas station by their house. This is not good enough. “Reclamation of the city begins with the realisation that ‘that’ place, whatever its problems, is in fact ‘our’ place” Cities Belong to us — Leo Hollis. Luckily, we live in Chicago and do not run into this issue. One street that especially stands out is Clark Street. The first time I ever walked down Clark Street it made me feel like I had walked back in time. When you think of old cities you think of everyone in the streets, everyone talking, going into business and just being a community. This is how Clark Street made me feel. My first ever impression of Clark St was

how much it just felt like a jungle, granted I was a kid and it was right after a cubs game but nevertheless the memory stook and my fondness of Clark St was born. Because of this I started my walk where it all started, Clark and Addison. Hundreds of restaurants, shops and most importantly bars popped out to me. They were all cubs related as the stadium was right behind me. As I started my walk down Clark Street, I was taken back by how everyone was hopping from bar to bar with each other. As you walk down the street you hear conversations with new found friends. People run into each other, they go bar hopping, they become friends. It is

something I have only experienced on Clark St. As weird as it might sound it felt like a big playground for adults. I walked through all of Wrigleyville, with every step Clark St felt as if it was growing up around me. What started as a mad house for lovers of sport, with the smell of beer and the sounds of fans screaming at T.Vs has turned into what felt like a historic downtown of an old city. Still it is Chicago, Al’s Italian beef on my right and a New York Pizza stand on my left reminded me of that fact in a clear fashion. The street got calmer, I got to appreciate it a little more. It was a cool fall morning the day I did this walk, the wind bringing the fall air against my face, the leaves falling at my feet, it truly was a perfect morning. I started to see families out for walks and kids showing off their Halloween costumes for the next day. The sense of community had changed but it felt just as strong. The beauty of Clark St is the originality and creativity that comes with having an abundance of small local business, and Clark St is not lacking any small local business.

The shops come together to create a very special environment. The message that is being shouted from the windows of these businesses is once again inclusion and community. The walls are flowers with Black Lives Matter signs and LGBTQ+ flags, these symbols are so important to have along the streets and in the city, African American and LGBTQ+ kids have the right to know their community stads with them. “But, most of all, they need to learn that there is a community that loves and cares for them.” Hundreds Of Englewood Students March Against Violence: ‘We Are Better Together’ — Sarah Badilni Business also put up creative art pieces in their window to make their little business standout. I’d like to think all of the shop owners have their own little competition of who can make their windows look the best. “When you are on foot you notice things you never would before, so its so important to have creative transparent windows” How To Design A Great Street — City Beautiful.

I walked into a shop that was making and selling hand drawn art, the lady working behind the desk along with her husband created it all themselves. I got to talk to her for a little while and I learned she went to my rival high school back home, she moved to chicago when she was 24 to pursue art, got married to a fellow artist and opened her shop. Even one of her paintings was of our hometown (I could not afford it). I walked out with a new perspective on the street. I started to see the shops as people’s life stories and not just a place to buy things. For every owner of these mom and pop shops that store is their life, and all you have to do is walk in and hear each one’s unique story. I continued on my stroll down Clark Street where I was met with a very quick reality. That grey Camry is not stopping, no I was not hit thankfully but I did have to try out my superman leap a day before Halloween. So this just goes to show to not have your head in the clouds too much. With a new found perspective on life after almost losing my own, I headed back on my Journey.

I stumbled upon a record store that just grabbed me right off the street. My dad works in the music business and me and him have always collected vinyls so this place was like heaven for me. I looked through everything they had for far too long. Every vinyl they had I debated buying. I was so intrigued with this place I striked up a conversation with the owner. He too moved to Chicago in his mid 20’s, His name is Dave and he comes from sunny California. He has been selling records for 25 years. He started off working at a mall chain store unboxing countless records. He worked his way up and was eventually able to buy his own record store and the rest was history. He promptly named it Daves. These stories that come from this street are the reason it is so special. I eventually made it to Fullerton and Clark and headed home. All of these things happened within 1.7 miles. Walking down a street that has character and personality will never disappoint, I think this is the highest aspiration for every city to achieve something like this. Clark Street is truly a very special place and the country needs more streets like it for people to call home.

--

--