Color in Chicago

Conor Reid
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
4 min readOct 11, 2021

October 10th

>My two colors where a light green “French Market” and a darker red “Fire Weed”.

>I started my walk in the quad where I found some foliage that resembled French Market, which was a common theme throughout most of my walk.

>I noticed that there where a lot of dogs, especially poodles, out that night. They where all very friendly, I can not say the same about the owners.

>At around 6:41, I found my first object that shared a color with fire weed. It was fire hydrant about 50 feet down North Seminary Avenue.

>As I continued down North Seminary I found more foliage that resembled French Market. It was surprisingly quiet for 7pm on a Sunday but I was not complaining.

>7:10: I tripped and was helped up by a stranger. I do not know how to feel. It was

>At around 7:15, I found both of my colors at a playground at the intersection North Maud and North Sheffield Avenue

>At around 7:20, I finally found a light green thing that wasn’t foliage. It was a Volkswagen on North Sheffield.

> As I was about to end my walk I found some foliage that heavily resembled weed.

Additional Pictures

According to Malchik in “March,” why is a community’s walkability “one of the single greatest factors in building social capital” (p. 45)? What is social capital? How do your community’s public infrastructure and public spaces support walkability (or not)? How has your community’s walkability factored in your social capital?

Malchik establishes the importance of social capital in soceity. Social capital is the various elements that form society, along with the various relationships present in a society/community. This includes education systems, neighborhood organizations, neighbor relationships, safety organizations and numerous other elements which make up a society. I did not have a strong sense of community back in Alabama and always kind of stood out. So the feeling of walking back home never felt wrong. Most people drove lifted trucks with various political stickers and those people loved to judge others on how they transported themselves so walking was a big no no. The funny party about that is that those people can barely transport themselves from point A to point B. So my enjoyment of walking in Chicago stems from being able to enjoy my surroundings without judgement because back home I was unable to appreciate it

(468 word)

--

--