Enjoying Solitude in Chaos

Lucia Preziosi
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
4 min readSep 20, 2021

After spending my first couple of weeks in Chicago wandering around Lincoln Park, I decided to venture into Downtown Chicago for my walk. I saw many different things and thought a lot about how the Loop differs from how I feel when I’m in Lincoln Park.

  • Right when I got off the red line at Grand St, I coincidentally ran into my friends from school who were also enjoying their night downtown and were headed back to campus at Lincoln Park. This made me feel more comforted because it was a bit intimidating to set out alone, somewhere where I had no sense of direction, but seeing my friends reminded me how small a big city can feel. This occurred around 7:15 pm on West Grand Ave. It was starting to feel a little chilly out, and I was very excited to see the beginning of fall in Chicago.
  • It was a couple of days before Mexican Independence Day, so I saw many cars decorated with Mexican flags and other cultural memorabilia for the upcoming holiday. Despite it not being the actual Independence Day, the cars still had a lot of energy and were honking their horns and blasting music. It was nice to see this example of cultural and pride for ethnicity. I saw cars all around downtown, but specifically noted seeing one covered with flags on West Ohio St.
  • Upon my walking, I stumbled across Portillo’s and felt very tempted to treat myself to some dinner. I had my first Chicago dog and enjoyed eating alone in order to get the full experience. It was fun to indulge in some more touristy fun, while actually being a resident in the city. I ate around 7:40 in the Portillo’s on W. Ontario. I kept my receipt as one of my objects, but it seems to have been lost in the depths of my tote bag.
  • The moon was very bright and prominent this particular night, so I found myself taking many photographs of it because I love how it contrasted with all the skyscrapers and high-rises. It was also my favorite time of the day , which is dusk, and loved looking at all the buildings begin to sparkle as the sun set.
  • Since it was still rush hour, there were many people leaving work and returning home. I saw this on both the L and outside on the street. But on my train ride back, since it was later, it was more desolate.
  • I saw many more upscale, stereotypically fancy restaurants with many older people enjoying their meals. It was a stark contrast to places like Wicker Park or Boystown which I saw more young people doing the same thing. These restaurants were more touristy and lacked originality in my opinion.
  • I saw many fancy sport cars speeding down various streets downtown, which reminded me of the roads by my house in Brooklyn where annoying drivers would always do the same thing. They would rev their engines making a super loud noise that I could hear past my headphones.
  • I saw many more touristy places, such as the Hard Rock Cafe and super fancy and modern structures that housed establishments like McDonalds, which made me think about gentrification and the future of city design.

Despite it being a week night during rush hour in downtown Chicago, I still found myself being very at peace and simply enjoying my time alone. I liked listening to music and just observing my surroundings with out being distracted by my friends or family. I think taking a walk alone also helped me get a better sense of direction and familiarized myself with a new area.

Moon above the buildings
When I ran into my friends outside the train station
John Hancock Center at dusk. View from W.Ontario St 8:19 pm

In “The Solitary Stroller and the City,” Rebecca Solnit writes, “Cities have always offered anonymity, variety, and conjunction, qualities best basked in by walking” (p. 182). How have you experienced the anonymity, variety, and conjunction of Chicago while walking?

There have been many circumstances where I find myself experiencing the anonymity, variety and conjunction of Chicago while walking. Since Chicago is a new city for me, and there are a lot of unknowns, there is a huge sense of anonymity anytime I step outside. This is a positive though, because there’s always something new to see and I don’t find myself getting sick of my surroundings or falling into a mundane routine. There’s a huge sense of mystery present in Chicago for me, but in a welcoming way that begs to be discovered rather than run away from. As for conjunction, many things work together in Chicago in order to form a beautiful and diverse city. Different communities and ethnic groups form unique neighborhoods that are truly only discoverable from walking and immersing yourself in the streets. Cities are built on community and acceptance, and by walking around Chicago, you are able to prove this. As for variety, there is no shortage of this in Chicago. There are so many different aspects of the city that are eye-catching when walking around, such as food, art, and culture. Anonymity, variety and conjunction are all so present in Chicago, and you simply have to walk the streets in order to discover this.

(word count 211)

--

--