Every Breath you Take by: The Police

Carter Altruda
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
4 min readSep 30, 2021

I took my walk around 7 pm on Saturday night. I was looking for an interesting person to follow but nobody was really sticking out. As I was walking down Halstead, I saw a young couple around 25 years of age. I could

not tell how long they had been together, but they were certainly in a relationship as they were holding hands. They walked with a little more energy than everyone else, and they really took in the city and the views. They had meaning and passion behind their walk. While everyone else was going from point A to point B, they were just out for a stroll around the town.

They took me on a nice walk through Lincoln Park, we started on the corner of Webster and Halstead then went walked down Webster. They looked into every store as if they loved everything they saw. Everything they did felt a little exaggerated. They walked through Oz Park togrther. I walked around because I didn’t want them to think I was actually stalking them. After their walk through Oz Park, they walked down Larrabee Street, and then turned onto W Armitage Ave. At this point, they stopped for a photo in front of a seemingly normal restaurant. I popped out my phone to walk past them to not seem obvious but ironically, they asked me to take a photo for them. I tried not to laugh and I agreed. I didn’t ask what the photo was for, i didnt want to ruin what was the mystery of thier walk, maybe their first date. This little memento just proves how we all tell our stories in this city. The fact that I would have passed that restaurant 1,000 times without thinking twice about it, and they had to stop for a photo, proves how Chicago is different for everybody who lives here.

This young couple had been carrying the peace of yarn throughout this city for seemingly a long time. In doing this, they have made their own memories and can tell their own story within the story of Chicago.

I have been truly lost in a city once in my life. This summer, me and my best friends went on a trip to all the best spots of the East Coast. One of our stops was New York City; a city none of us were very familiar with. We went out with the sole purpose of exploring. Our goal was to get the most out of NYC that we possibly could in 3 days. Our first night we wanted to walk accross the Brooklyn Bridge and then walk back to our hotel. The walk arross the bridge was everything we hoped it would be. When we crossed it, we found ourselvs lost in Manhattan. This was a scary thought to a bunch of kids from a place that is considered a town not even a city. This would go on to be one the best night of my life. We walked through China Town and bought fake jewerly. We also walked down a bussiling bar street where we met five fire fighters who fought the fires in the World Trade Center. We snuck into the fire exit of a bar got thrown out alomost immedititly. All in all what started with us being lost was one of the most action packed night of my life.

--

--