Finding myself, but this time, in Chicago.

Finland Haney
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
3 min readOct 17, 2021

I am thinking of doing my final project about Chicago at night. I personally love Chicago but one thing that can drive me crazy is the volume of the city. Constant hustle and bustle make every moment always full of sound. This is why to me, silence comes with the most peaceful moments. Chicago, as well as any city at night, in my opinion, strives in the peacefulness of the silence. The lack of a crowd, the quiet conversations, the sound of the wind. I find true peace in these moments and wish to share the wonders of late-night walks with others. I walk through Millenium park and enjoy the peace in the quietness of the night. I cross the BP pedestrian bridge and take a long exposure photo using my camera. I think the photo encapsulates how I see and feel about the night. The peace and quiet, the contrast of the dark night sky to the colors of the cars passing down the highway bring a smile to my face.

Wood says a map is an image projecting its objective neutrality, Krygier said maps are propositions. Seeing the vast differences between the homes and buildings on the same street only separated by north and south is shocking. I had never been shown the sharp contrast this clearly before. Obviously, most people are aware of systemic racism and segregation, but to lay it out in this format helps immensely when attempting to appeal to those who have not seen the major differences between these communities in their own life. Gaining perspective and an understanding of the extreme differences between these types of communities helps people to be able to gain empathy and begin a conversation about the systemic racism and historical segregation in Chicago. We make maps to affirm (like Wood and Krygier said) where buildings, roads, and monuments are. These maps can help residents to understand more about their community or to assist new residents in learning more about their area. Maps quickly become political as soon as voting is brought into the discussion. The common practice of manipulating historically Democratic and Republican town lines in order to ensure a state or county’s votes go one way or another is the most prevalent example. (203)

Race and Gender both, unfortunately, play a larger role in walking than they should. Historically, while walking, especially at night, Women have been the frequent targets of assault. Typically African Americans have also been targeted by police officers while walking, having committed no crimes. Walkability is essential to a communities ability to grow its social capital. Being able to run into others and form new relationships through one-on-one and group interaction is vital to the growth of social capital and culture within the community. Social Capital is the network of relationships between people who live and work in the community. Chicago supports walkability, the Loop, and its surrounding neighborhoods are all very walkable places. The access to public transportation, the sidewalks, and great parks all make Chicago a very walkable town. Chicago’s walkability has factored into my social capital at DePaul very frequently. I often run into or am introduced to new students and people solely because I am surrounded by a community of peers in my age group. The ability to constantly see students in my own building or meet others in class or through new friends is amazing. My small town was walkable but had nowhere near the number of people. The sheer number of students at DePaul and in my building greatly increases the social capital of the campus community. (225)

--

--