Galena, the big little town

rafaella
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
5 min readOct 25, 2021

This weekend I learned how to use the Metra. After taking the wrong train, going south instead of the northwest, and wasting $18 on tickets, I managed to hop on the right one and arrive at my aunt’s house in Crystal Lake, a suburb around an hour and a half away from Chicago. I did not know what commuters had to go through until now, and in all honesty, I admire now more than ever how and what they go through every day to get to their classes.

My stay there was refreshing. I got to see my relatives and catch up with them. I told my aunt about the walk I had to do. She found it interesting that my assignment consisted of walking and documenting what I found and saw. She told me about a nice place that she used to wander some years ago called Galena. A small-town way past Rockford and Freeport. She brought that up because she insisted that we go there for my walk. She mentioned that autumn can be better appreciated there and that we have the so famous pumpkin spiced lattes. I agreed and went with her on a mini road trip.

I did not know what to expect from a small town in Illinois but it definitely wasn’t feeling like I had just time traveled. It reminded me of 2018 when I went on a trip to Europe and explored many countries there with my classmates. During that excursion, I traveled to some of the oldest European small towns and cities. Narrow streets, tall buildings with little balconies that flaunt pretty flowers, churches, bakeries, and small restaurants that look like they belong to old European movies. I thought I was not going to be able to see that again until I got to Galena.

I remember not being able to stop my head from looking everywhere. It looked so pretty. I felt so happy at that moment for some reason. I also noticed the people around me. There were Mexicans, Spanish, Ecuadorians if I included my aunt and myself, and many other people from other states who had driven for hours to visit Galena. This reminded me of the topic I was planning to do my presentation on. Multiculturalism, and diversity in Chicago. I felt like I was surrounded by everyone and everything. Galena was no longer a small town, it was the biggest and most entertaining place ever. I wanted to visit every store, try every bread from every bakery, and purchase all souvenirs. I have realized how diversity and inclusion are what motivate me to learn about something. It sparks curiosity. I feel like so much can be exchanged in one conversation, and every time I do, I take little pieces of happiness from the other person with me.

I want to talk about how these topics bring people together and make connections. Regardless of where they come from, whether they speak with an accent or not, and how they identify themselves. I want to encourage people to do the same and take advantage of the resources and opportunities Chicago has to make these connections.

How might Malchik and Loerzel respond to the following questions: How does where you live influence how you live? How is a neighborhood’s infrastructure (or, built environment) linked to its social capital? What are the threats to walking?

The infrastructure can play a crucial role when it comes to the walkability of a city. If I compared Quito, Ecuador’s capital and Chicago, I’d say Chicago is a city that was designed to be walked through. I can tell because of how much more pleasant and safer it feels whenever I go out on walks. It might be the sidewalks, there are so many. I hadn't enjoyed walking this much before. It has definitely influenced me. It has made me more social. Asking for directions to strangers, to help me take pictures of me, or giving them a compliment. However, there is always another side, and that side includes the dangers or threats.

There is jaywalking, which can be a bit unsafe to those who have no experience doing it, like me. Prejudice on walkers, like it is mentioned in one of the readings “she was stopped by police constantly simply because she preferred to walk to work. Twice they insisted on driving her home, ‘so I could prove I wasn’t homeless or a prostitute.” And many others.

  • How might Malchik and The School of Life narrator respond to the following question: How do we reclaim streets, blocks, and cities for walking?

One of the best ways to do it, is probably by keeping our sidewalks, public spaces and public transportation. These things highly encourage walkers to go out, march, both by themselves or with friends and increase social capital. Making connections of any kind and improving the city’s walkability as well.

  • Walk to a walkable block in Chicago. What makes it walkable? How does its built environment exhibit (or not) the features of an “attractive city?” Document (e.g., photographs) these features.

I like how the walkability of an area is measured on how pretty it is. I consider the Lincoln Park neighborhood walkable. I also consider Pilsen and Chinatown walkable. All these districts have different things to offer yet all of them are entertaining to walk through. They all have a different kind of pretty that lures pedestrians into its streets. According to the video, it might be the organized complexity, how lively they are, compactness, etc.

Dragon skull inside a souvenir store in Galena

--

--