Going South

Pcasellas
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
3 min readOct 18, 2021

For this week I wanted to travel somewhere in a direction I haven’t explored. I’ve walked North, East and West across Lincoln park. The only direction I have not explored is South through Lincoln park. So I stepped out of my dorm and walked south through the University.

Here in these photos I took I walked south through Lincoln park and beyond Lincoln park. In these photos they are just simple pictures of the south area of Lincoln Park. Here in the first photo is the church that is right next to the university. To show the beginning of this walking journey as a start of leaving the university and heading south. The second photo shows some sort of mail booth covered in stickers and graffiti art. The third shows a parking entrance where in front of that reveals the train railroad. The fourth shows a small playground for children. The fifth photo shows residential homes across the street that I’m walking through. And finally the last photo shows a cross intersection with a supermarket ahead which is where I stopped. So why I took all of these pictures? Chicago is massive and I have still not covered every single part of it so far. Only the main areas of Chicago and the universities. So what about these pictures? Firsts things first are the people around you. Through my walk I saw people with different genders and different colors and races. Nothing unusual about that. But it shows how these people can change the aspect of a city. For example the mail booth. It was covered by stickers that promotes some sort of message or advertisement. These could be from from anyone. Perhaps the people that I passed by could be involved in these objectives. For what I have discovered wasn’t literal. No unique structures, homes, or buildings. The only thing what I have discovered are people that I will witnessed for the first and last time for now. And new areas that I haven’t visited. And perhaps these new areas that I visited could be benefitcial for me. Even there was a local Amazon that I found and I needed to find a Amazon store to buy certain products. We view strangers as a quick look. Once seen ad never to be seen again. But this is a reminder that wherever you go, youre part of that community, like me who I lived in the DePaul university area. And in that community I’ve met a lot of people and created a ton of new friends. If a community like that can grant you that, then its possible that any community has that potential. The way of meeting others and knowing more of them. Those were my thoughts and beliefs about this walk.

--

--