I had dumplings in Chinatown!

rafaella
walking chicago: a history in footsteps
5 min readSep 19, 2021

There is something behind the concept of Chinatown that I hold very dear. A small piece that belongs to a different country and culture located on the other side of the globe settled right here in Chicago. I have been wanting to visit it since I arrived at the city, alongside many other iconic places, yet Chinatown had a special place on my bucket list.

As soon as I arrived, the landscape that welcomed me was delightful. I do not recall the last time I saw such peculiar scenery. There were some tall majestic buildings built with distinct Chinese architecture that towered over others. The signs around me had a Mandarin translation right next to the text in English. For a moment, it felt like entering a new reality.

After leaving the station, I could instantly spot some shops across the street selling dim sum, kung pao, fried rice, among others. I noticed there were many restaurants. I assumed it was probably for offering tasty meals to the newcomers departing from the terminal and venturing into the neighborhood. There was a rather tempting smell coming from these places. I noticed a mixture of spices, vegetables, proteins, etc. I decided I should stop for lunch there later since it looked and smelled pretty appetizing. Chinese food has always been one of my favorites and, having the chance to have some in an actual Chinatown seemed quite convenient.

As I was walking, I could hear the locals around me speaking in Mandarin. I saw red Chinese lanterns hanging in some posts, abandoned-looking buildings with “For rent” signs in the windows and, plenty of brown leaves on the ground that indicated fall was initiating. The streets were wide, as well as the sidewalks. It was a lovely neighborhood. It made me want to live there for a while.

I made it into the Square Plaza and got in through the North Gate. There was a large dark sign with both red Chinese characters and English words with the name of the entrance. After crossing it, the ambiance shifted. My surroundings were similar to the oriental-looking movies I used to watch when I was little. I was curious as to why there was so much red or why it was so popular. I later learned that it symbolizes good fortune and joy. Getting to know those little things has always fascinated me, for example: what they think about a specific color, an animal, their superstitions, idioms. I used to think that looking for the answer on the Internet is the only and fastest way, but actually visiting the place, walking around it, noticing peculiar things, and wondering what it might mean is the best way to learn about a neighborhood or community. It sparks curiosity and ambition for knowledge.

I remember a construction taking place. The Plaza was quite busy and full of life, like the actual crowded streets of Beijing. It made me wonder how it would look like at night. I will definitely go there again and check it out. I also did some shopping in a Chinese souvenir store. To my surprise, there was more Japanese merchandise than I expected. I did buy some trinkets just because the excitement got the best of me.

The most memorable part of this trip was going to a restaurant called Joy Yee Plus. It took a while to decide what I would have since the menu had numerous options, including Japanese, Korean, and Southeast Asian dishes. In the end, I had dumplings, which were scalding, it burned, but the taste was splendid and worth having a fire in the mouth. The restaurant had a diverting setting. There were quite some people, therefore the other food must have been good. I wrote the place down on my notes since I will be visiting again soon.

On my way back, music started playing, people in colorful costumes started walking near me and found small stands with vendors selling their products. I would have liked to know if it was a special day or celebration and would have loved to have stayed longer and keep wandering.

After this trip, I realized how my orientation skills and my ability to get to places got better. I no longer depend so much on a GPS. I know where I am and I am glad I am getting to know new places every day. The fear I used to have of getting lost is slowly fading and is getting replaced by more motivation and confidence.
I also learned how diverse Chicago truly is. Not only is there a Chinatown, but dozens of other neighborhoods that are home to people of many backgrounds. Each one of those districts has a story to tell and belongs to Chicago’s never-ending story. I feel like I can intertwine with these anecdotes, get to know the community better, and make my own story.

~How have you experienced the anonymity, variety, and conjunction of Chicago while walking?

Chicago itself has all these qualities in every sense. How each one of us perceives it differs immensely. From its diverse individuals to the remarkable architecture of the buildings that give the city its reputation. Chicago is so full of well-preserved history and cultures. It conveys legacies, anecdotes, experiences and stories that sometimes people, and things leave behind in many ways. At times intentionally, others accidentally.

Discovering and learning it is the best part. I like to think of it as a scavenger hunt in one of the biggest and most populated cities. When I walk, I am responsible for my own path. I like the control of deciding when I can stop to look at something, enter a place, smell or touch something. I enjoy taking the same paths strangers did and wonder if they thought the same as I did when looking at their surroundings. It has open new opportunities for learning and being more open-minded.

Chicago has taught me how to be part of something and contribute to it my own way. Since it is a big city, I feared it would make me feel small and stay in a little box. I have realized it is more than welcoming if I welcome it first and discover the way I have been. Through walking.

--

--